Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Waukegan, IL
Students enrolled: 4,293

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Waukegan High School 5

Posted August 23, 2014
- a community member
I like the school. You meet awsome people, both teachers and students. It can be better. But it is not the worst.

Waukegan High School 4

Posted March 28, 2013
- a parent
I am very happy with the Washington house 4 school. My daughter is excelling and she has improved study habits and has grown as a student and a person at this school! She loves her teachers and says they are great at teaching and encouraging their students.There are also a great group of kids in house 4!


Waukegan High School 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a student
I LOVE WAUKEGAN HIGHSCHOOL it builds friendshiip and involvment in school and there are hot guyss :D

Waukegan High School 3

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
I don't like this school. When I attended it was in a better standing. Now, I hear it's a horrible school to attend. But the reason, I'm voting for it, it's because it SERIOUSLY needs the money SO IT CAN IMPROVE, because I still believe in WAUKEGAN HIGH. GO BULLDOGS!!!

Waukegan High School 3

Posted August 24, 2010
- a student
Waukegan High School can be a great school for any student. They almost got every class a student would want to take in high school. It can be a great learning experience for anyone. But like any other schools, Waukegan has its downfall. Most of the teachers there are great and know what they are talking about. Then there are those other teachers who have temper problems or just don't know how to connect with the students. Another problem are the students. There are too many ghetto kids who are a waste of space and don't want to learn. They need to get kicked out asap. And security is horrible at the school. They just sit all day doing nothing. other then that waukegan can be a AMAZING school. If these problems were fixed Waukegan would get the respect it deserves


Waukegan High School 3

Posted November 02, 2009
- a student
the only students that learn anything of substance are those who seek for knowledge elsewhere

Waukegan High School 5

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
waukegan high school is the best high school ever and the basketball teams are always good i love tht school

Waukegan High School 5

Posted September 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Waukegan High School 3

Posted October 04, 2008
- a student
Waukegan High School has it's pros and cons. Then again, what school doesn't? I'm a sophmore in the College Studies Program, and I do have to say, it's great. The teachers...are exceptional. Each and every one of them is unique and they honestly care about their students. At least, my teachers do. People say that our school isn't very good, but who are they to judge? Every student that attends Waukegan High has the potential and opportunity to be great.

Waukegan High School 3

Posted August 19, 2008
- a student
I graduated from WHS in 2007. Throughout my four years there, we had 3 (technically 4 principals) and they weren't that great. They all had their own flaws and didn't do much to try to improve the school. Teacher quality was pretty decent. I was in the College Studies Program, so of course we seemed to have better teachers. They really cared for their students' success and development as young adults. The extracurricular activities were the best! We have one of the best JROTC programs in the country along with one of the best fine arts programs in the state. Parent involvement wasn't too great, but I think that has to do with the administration not motivating the parents either. Safety was terrible (the security guards were all lazy)...we had the millions of fire alarms and the numerous bomb threats...but I do believe that WHS can improve!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waukegan High School
2325 Brookside Avenue, Waukegan, IL  60085
(847) 360-5621
Last modified Waukegan High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Waukegan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top