Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Wayne, IL
Students enrolled: 474
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wayne Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is absolutely great! My son is in there special education class and the teacher and staff are so caring. My son has improved so much after attending this school. The school is so organized. I really like the principal, she is very caring and nice. She really takes time to talk to parents. This is best U-46 school in the district.

Wayne Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
Wayne Elementary has been wonderful for our daughter who has attended 1st and 2nd grades there. The teachers really care about the children, and the creative ways that they continuously keep the children engaged and passionate about learning are unbelievable. Everybody at the school from the custodian to the principal are warm, friendly, and engaging. The communication is also excellent, with regular e-mail updates to parents to supplement the information brought home by the children. I cannot say enough good things about this school.


Wayne Elementary School 2

Posted March 05, 2012
- a parent
I cannot get my child out of this school fast enough. Wayne School is a "School of Excellence" with the state of Illinois. It's easy to be excellent when the education is dumbed down about 2 grades. There is a MAJOR problem with bullying in this school, especially once you get past 4th grade - and the administration does nothing. Way to much authority is given to parent volunteers. The classrooms are over-crowded and the school heating/cooling systems need to be upgraded. The teachers for for the lower grades are fine, but for 4th, 5th & 6th leave much to be desired!!

Wayne Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2011
- a parent
my daughter has enjoyed her three years attending Wayne Elementary and really liked all the teachers she has had.

Wayne Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a community member
Wayne school has the best teachers. They are innovative and dedicated. One retired teacher volunteered to go back and teach for the last 7 years because it is such a great environment for students.


Wayne Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
My son has been attending Wayne for two years now and I do not think the kids are learnign as much as the other schools in the area. The prinicpal is very slow in responding to parent issues and everything is about fund raising. What about teaching the children what they need to know. In kindergarden they put my son on the school bus instead of the daycare bus and then blamed it on a parent volunteer. How scary to be left on a bus on your first day of school.

Wayne Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2009
- a parent
Wayne school is great for our children. Teachers are caring and parents are involved to make a great environment.

Wayne Elementary School 4

Posted February 23, 2008
- a parent
This school is about as good as it gets in U46 and that isn't saying much. The level of parent participation is high and there is much local support for the school and the teachers. Still, class sizes are larger than nearby schools. You had better like Wayne to go to school here, because as good as a school it is, you'd be better off in Geneva.


Wayne Elementary School 4

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
Wayne Elementary is a wonderful school to attend. Parent involvement is very high and the PTO does an excellent job of adding programs and materials for all of the grade levels. Teachers are dedicated and professional. Class sizes are a bit high but I've always felt my children have received enough individual attention.

Wayne Elementary School 3

Posted October 16, 2007
- a parent
The average class size is 31-33 kids with no teacher's aid.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wayne Elementary School
School Street, Wayne, IL  60184
(630) 736-7100
Last modified Wayne Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wayne Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top