Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Divine Infant Jesus School

Private | PK-8 | 203 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Westchester

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $178,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2013

Divine Infant is a great school. The school emphasis academic excellence and diversity. The school and the teachers have given my children a very good learning environment. The focus is not only on the student but the student's family as well. We feel part of the school family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

This is school has Double AA status is my book. Amazing & Awesome. The student/teacher ratio is small. I feel that the teachers truly care about the academic needs of my children. I can reach the teachers anytime via email or phone and they are quick to reply with informative answers to all of my questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Our family could not be more pleased with our experience at Divine Infant. The Divine Infant community is welcoming and inspirational and has become an extension of our family. The parent involvement is extremely strong and like nothing I have ever seen before. The teachers are caring and provide an environment where our children can feel safe and comfortable and where learning is fun. My husband and I are amazed at the advanced pace that our children are learning at and feel that they will have an advantage when moving on to high school and eventually college because of the instruction and experience they are part of at Divine Infant. Our children begin math, reading, foreign language and computer skills in the Pre-Kindergarten and Kindergarten grades. In addition to the quality education that is available at Divine Infant, our children are also given the opportunity to participate in athletics as early as Kindergarten. We are truly impressed with the quality of education, the sense of community and the support from the staff and other families and would recommend Divine Infant to any family who is interested in the best education possible for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

My son has attended DI from PS. He is now in 7th grade. The teachers have been excellent. They are all ways available for parent questions or student help. They are also sensitive to the children's needs. When my father passed the school and church prayed for him. My son and I were very grateful. The building is old but there has been steady improvements made. This school is very family orientated I would strongly recommend it . There is a variety of extra curricular activities available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

I really D.I. my children are so happy with the teachers and other childen. The teaching staff is great and really cares about the children. The sports were fun and the clubs greats!! The principal was so friendly and helpful!! Great Catholic school teaching good morals and values!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

My daughter is about to finish her first year of school at DI (preschool) and she absolutely loves it. The preschool and prekindergarten teachers and aide are abundantly caring, nurturing and patient. What I like the most is that my daughter is learning while having fun and becoming socialized. That is what preschool should be. I also like that the principal and PS/PK staff work with you if you have particular scheduling needs. For example, the children that go half day three days a week don't necessarily have to go MWF. Another example... if your child is three, but not potty-trained by the start of the school year, you can still enroll your child when he or she is ready at any point during the year. Not all schools are this accommodating. The school itself is diverse and has a family-feel to it. Parents are encouraged to take an active part in their children's school experience through volunteering in the classroom and at school events. My husband and I are 100% satisfied with our decision to send our daughter to DI, and look forward to enrolling our son when he is old enough. If you live in the area, I highly recommend checking out this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

This school is phenomenal. Mr. G and his staff care about the kids. I love the fact that the teachers LUV these kids. We are so lucky to still see a school that cares about the students and how they do. The family atmosphere is the best! Thank you all at DI


Posted October 13, 2010

Students leave well prepared for demanding high school programs. The school emphasizes spiritual development as well, creating an awareness in the children that they are part of a larger picture and must do their part to create a better world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Clearly teaching and supporting the various families in the area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

DI has prepared my daughter for High School. Looking forward to June Graduation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

Because it is a very progressive school. It tries to have a balance of music, sportsplus the basics


Posted May 1, 2009

Divine Infant is a great school if your child is average to above average and has no disabilities. The slightest disability a student may have, this school is not staffed or anatomically set up to handle. Do NOT believe what they say, they can NOT handle it! Three things you should know when your son or daughter graduates: You will need to hire someone privately to teach math, Spanish, and how to play an instrument (e.g. scales). Students coming from the public high schools will be running rings around your graduate in these areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

DI family that's where we belong to...my kids 4th and 5th grader goes there and next schoolyear my preschooler as well. I just wish we can improve the process on how we drop off our kids...parents are obliged to drop them off in the street because the main parking lot is being used for kids to line up before the bell rings and this is not good especially during winter. But overall we are happy being part of DI family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

My daughter is in D.I and the school is wonderful. I plan on sending my son also next year. The staff really works with parents on issues and contribute greatly to each child. I am from out of the area but I work close to this school that is why my child attends DI. I sent my oldest daughter also 10 years ago and came back agian 10 years later!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

Having had our children at both Divine Infant and Westchester Public School, Divine Infant is the way to go. Both schools are good academically, but there is no family environment at WPS. You and your children are just numbers to them. Divine Infant encourages parents and families to be involved with in-school activities and many after school events. It is a very welcoming school and everyone knows everyone there. The teachers, principal and pastor make great effort to know you as a family, children and parents. Your child gets way more then the three RRRs at D I. The computer program totally outshines what is offered at WPS, the band is great, hot lunch is good (fast food at WPS), and Catholic values are practiced on daily basis. Divine Infant does have a small gym and no elevator, but fancy buildings don't give your children a solid education, people do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

Divine Infant is a good school if your child is an A - B student. In other words, if your child is above average from the get-go, he or she will flourish at Divine Infant. Howeer, if your child needs extra help in some subjects, the faculty is little or no help. They always wait for the child to ask for extra help and rarely proactively offer it. So the child needs to know they don't know it to get that extra help. It really is just not a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

If you are looking for a great place in Westchester to educate your children, take a look at Divine Infant... and then move on to the Westchester Public Schools. Divine Infant may have once been an outstanding school but that was 20 or 30 years ago. Yes, there are still some fine teachers at Divine Infant but the school lacks good leadership from both the pastor and the principal. In addition, the facilities are hopelessly outdated and parish leadership has failed in campaigns to update the facilities by building a new gymnasium or even adding ways for the disabled to access Langan Hall. The school is sorely lacking in comparison to the Westchester Public Schools in having extracurriculur activities available for students and extra assistance for those children who need it. Tour Divine Infant. Then tour the Westchester Public Schools. You can't help but notice the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

great all around program, emphasis on academics and excelling. A myriad of extracurricular activities including music,track and volleyball. A tight community so parent involvment is high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

The teachers & administration really strive to communicate & work with parents for the benefit of the kids. For instance, the kindergarten teacher noticed our son was having some fine motor skills trouble. Not enough to indicate therapy or a learning/behavioral disability, but more problems than most kids his age in learning to write. She called a staffing meeting including herself & us, his teacher from the two previous years of Pre-School/Pre-K, the principal, & two Occupational Therapists from the local school system. All these people gathered to discuss our son's strengths & weaknesses to give her ideas of methods she could use in class to help him improve his fine motor skills. We were impressed & grateful. DI also has started a school-wide anti-bullying program taught in conjunction with religion classes. This is a proactive way for the teachers & administration to show that unacceptable behavior won't be tolerated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

My two children who graduated from Divine Infant have moved on to outstanding universities. I attribute part of their success to the work ethic that they learned at a very young age from Divine Infant. My oldest daughter has already vowed to send her children to D.I. when that time comes. I would never send my child anywhere other than Divine Infant.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 51%
Black 24% 18%
Hispanic 20% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Leonard Gramarossa
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1640 Newcastle Avenue
Westchester, IL 60154
Phone: (708) 865-0122

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Divine Providence
Westchester, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT