Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westmont High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 13, 2011

I like that the school is smaller and everyone (staff,parents,& students) seam to know or know of each other. My High School was to large so that made me feel lost in the shuffle. The kids get to participate on just about everything they go out for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

I truly enjoyed the time I spent at Westmont High. I was able to experience and learn so much because of the smaller class size. Westmont is a very small town that is surrounded by larger cities. The other local High Schools were too competitive! I got to try out many different sports, work on the musicals and plays, I even taught swim lessons! WHS prepares its grads with the tools to succeed!!!!! Go Sentinels.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2011

There are very few nice things i can say about the time i spent at Westmont.....I am SOOO happy i got out of there when i did (10+ yrs). Most of the teachers there had no idea what they were doing.....and never thought i would make it in life.


Posted November 3, 2009

they have the most caring staff, teacher, that gives 100% to the students. the teacher has an open door policey all the time, great softball and girls basketball team. such a good enviroment, the students want to be there. outstanding health teacher to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

It is a progressive and drug free school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I know this school is not the biggest ,but the education, teachers and the students are aspects that make this school so special. I feel this school is great with its support to students, sports and most important of all, education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2007

This school sets most of there prioties on the kids who are going well known colleges.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2006

I am very happy and satisfied with Westmont High School. I have one daughter there now and two entering within the next 3 years. I feel the quality of academic programs and availablity of arts, sports, etc. is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

The teachers here are very involved with students. The extracurricular activities are great, each sport is supported by the principal and teachers and by the student body. Teachers prep students well for a test and take the extra time to help a child out if they don't understand something. I would recommand this school to parents who would like their child to go to a smaller school, with smaller schools there is more of a hands on, face to face time for each student!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 22, 2005

I had a great time at this school. The small setting allows teachers to really get to know their students and their individual needs. By the time I graduated, my teachers knew me and gave me the education I needed to succeed in college. There are so many advantages to a small school and I'm very happy I had the opportunity to attend WHS.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 16, 2004

I think this school is a joke.Me and my brother and sister learned nothing and the teachers arent teachers. This school needs to be torn down because children arent gettin an education! I will be sure my younger sister does not go there!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female56%
Male63%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Low income52%
Not low income65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female61%
Male62%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Low income50%
Not low income68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students63%
Female62%
Male63%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Low income52%
Not low income70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

93.7%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 51%
Hispanic 15% 24%
Black 9% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

909 Oakwood Drive
Westmont, IL 60559
Phone: (630) 468-8100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Multi Needs Program
Downers Grove, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT