Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wilmette Junior High School 5

Posted December 10, 2014
- a parent
I've had two children move from WJHS to New Trier, and one more on the way. Coming from WJHS, my children were 100% prepared for the rigors of high school. And, they confided to me that they felt like kids from WJHS were more prepared than students from other "sender districts". WJHS is indeed a fairly big school with 800+ students in 7th and 8th grade. But, despite the size, I always felt the teachers knew my children very well. My observation is also that the size may be an advantage in terms of WJHS students being well-acclimated to a larger student body when they move on to big high schools in our area (e.g., NTHS, Loyola). The teachers, the facilities/resources and principal are all very impressive. The academic rigor and learning environment has exceeded our expectations.

Wilmette Junior High School 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is full of arrogant and entitlement minded teachers. They have a disjoint and ineffective relationship with the High School.


Wilmette Junior High School 5

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
Amazing school. Team 7b are smart, caring and enthusiastic teachers. They really care about their kids and give them to opportunity to work to their fullest potential. The curriculum is advanced compared to other schools and prepares the students for high school and beyond. Much of the credit goes to the Principal, Dave Palzet. He is progressive and really listens to the parents. Totally worth paying the outrageous property taxes in Wilmette!

Wilmette Junior High School 3

Posted December 25, 2013
- a community member
While the education and curriculum is very good, there are some issues on the way this school is run. First of all, the school puts a lot of money into anti-bullying programs that are useless due to a basically 0% of bullying at this school. Because of this, most of the teachers are blinded. Really it just gives students a chance to tattle. If they just say exactly what the program says to say, they can get the other student in trouble. This also leads to the Merits/Demerits. If a teacher gets a student in trouble when not at fault, when the student tries to say something, the teacher just checks another box saying, "Talks Back". When trying to get a merit (reward) students just get obnoxious. Only newer teachers or long term subs get these problems. Some of them even skip the anti-bullying curriculum because they know the students really don't get much out of it other than boredom. On the good side, some of the teachers are great and give support such as staying after school for 2 more hours so students can get help or study for a test. Money wise, this school also replaces APPLE technology every 2 years but still, there are no good, working drinking fountains.

Wilmette Junior High School 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
This school is wonderful! Most of the staff is very good & cares about the students. They keep bullying to a minimum. Communications are outstanding. The kids can log into their class website & parent's can track their kids grades weekly if desired. I can't imagine a better school for my kids & feel very comfortable recommending this school to anyone! There are advanced classes remedial classes & everything in between. My daughter has ADHD & needs extra math support. We love the Academic Strategies (AS) option for kids that have executive functioning difficulties. An LBS works with a few kids during this period, to help organize their work, reteach difficult concepts & work on long term projects. Her LBS (Megan Spellman) was outstanding. There are so many options offered that other kids don't notice the pullouts. Her teachers were very supportive & understanding, with the exception of a surly science teacher. I am also very impressed with the principal Dave Palzet. He is capable, kind & approachable & the kids really like him. He is frequently seen roaming the hallways & greeting students. WJHS offers a ton of after school clubs & free before & after school study sessions.


Wilmette Junior High School 5

Posted April 22, 2010
- a community member
My family recently moved to Wilmette from Skokie and my younger sister started 7th grade here. The first few weeks it was a bit rocky socially but after that she had tons of friends and liked it much better than her old school. The curriculum is much more advanced and some of the things she is learning I wasn't taught until my junior year of high school (investments and stock market operations for example.) The teachers teach the kids the basics but then expect the students to use that to teach themselves the more advanced topics on their own, which results in me having to tutor her a lot as she isn't much of a book learner. Class offerings are broad, such as Photography, Mathematics in Economics, and 2D/3D Art. She gets about 2-3 hours of homework a night, compared to the 30 mins to an hour she used to get.

Wilmette Junior High School 2

Posted June 11, 2009
- a student
With the exception of a few, all of the teachers are bad and very unenthusiastic. The administration will not take responsibility for anything that goes wrong, and the sports selections are unfair and biased.

Wilmette Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted February 27, 2009
- a parent
This is a very good school. These reviews here are pretty old and lots has changed. The teachers care about the kids and are responsive to academic and social needs. The music program is great and even though my kid is kind of a band nerd, we've had a great experience at a time when lots of kids struggle.


Wilmette Junior High School 5

Posted February 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Wilmette Junior High School 5

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilmette Junior High School
620 Locust Road, Wilmette, IL  60091
(847) 256-7280
Last modified Wilmette Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wilmette Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top