Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Anderson, IN
Students enrolled: 1,884
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Anderson High School 1

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Senior student currently taking dual credit college math class was told in April, that they will not get college credit for the class taught at school credits from IvyTech because teacher doesn't qualify to teach that class. No letter or calls to parents. They just now figured this out. Lost all confidence in AHS.
1 person found this helpful

Anderson High School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a student
Anderson High School is definitely improving, with better administration, better classes, and higher goals. On a scale of 1-10, I would give Anderson High School a 9. The administration is friendly, and will greet everyone that walks through the doors. The goals are explained to us, and students are treated like adults. Great school, great administration, and a great location.


Anderson High School 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
I am giving a high rating Because all the teachers are so caring and respectful, They also keep us informed on everything going on in the school. Thank you Mrs. Harshman for being soooo Good with our Child and Helping him through his hard times.

Anderson High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
As a result of all the changes in the school district, this school needs help more than ever.

Anderson High School
no rating

Posted October 11, 2010
- a community member
Great strides are being made in integrating a third senior high school, Highland, into a previously combined Anderson and Madison Heights High School. This summer (2010), the combined marching band was wearing the Highland kilts because that was the only uniform having enough to clothe all the band members. There are three majors, each dressed in their respective traditional uniforms. When Anderson High School won the Indiana State Fair Marching Band Contest this summer, the three majors came forward to accept the huge trophy; saying it was for the unified Anderson High School. With all the turmoil that surrounded the closing of Highland High School, it was quite inspiring to see the award being presented live during the eleven o clock nightly news on WTHR channel 13. The students are not resisting the unification . On the contrary, the students have come up with various slogans for each athletic team, each one supporting the combining of the three schools.


Anderson High School 5

Posted March 14, 2010
- a student
I am a student and Anderson Highschool receiving a 4.0 gradepoint average. Overall I would not choose another school to attend. Many people hear the bad, critical things about Anderson but no one ever seems to observe the good. I would highliy recommend Anderson Highschool to any parent concerned or looking.

Anderson High School
no rating

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
Am pleased with courses offered but dislike the large class size. I think there are too many GROUP assignments that do not accurately assess individual gpa's. I am concerned when high schools merge and class sizes continue to increase. I think the testing results of the school (state/nationwide) indicate that the material is NOT being absorbed by the majority of the students.

Anderson High School
no rating

Posted February 08, 2010
- a student
Anderson high school is one of the best schools in anderson indiana and i loved it when i went there..Alot of good learning and helping with each other..Ill rate this school number one on my list..I wish i can go back


Anderson High School
no rating

Posted June 20, 2009
- a parent
The counseling department needs to figure out what they are supposed to do when the student wants to pursue a specific field of study and not just put students in a 'standard program' if they have no idea what is needed as prerequisites for that career. Also, one counselor that was in the department in 2007 had an issue with doing the job of forwarding transcripts even after repeated requests and caused my student to lose a 4 year full-ride scholarship to a very prestigious engineering school. Make sure parents that you pay full & close attention to everything the so-called counselors are doing/not doing for your gifted children!

Anderson High School 3

Posted March 05, 2009
- a student
I am a student at anderson high school and i believe we are a lillll bit below average but not enough to give us 2 stars out of 5. There is a lot of work that needs to be done at our school. And im talking about dicipline wise, but not in the way you are thinking. The disciplinary actions we take towards students can sometimes be over the top. Teachers these days think they have the authority to talk to you like youre on the streets which i do not appreciate at all. It really just depends on what teachers you have on wether you like the school or not. Anderson high school is not one of the first high schools you should be enrolling your child into. But with the benefit of the doubt anderson can be a good school. Thanks :)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anderson High School
4610 Madison Avenue, Anderson, IN  46013
(765) 641-2037
Last modified Anderson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Anderson High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top