Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


University High School Of Indiana 5

Posted November 25, 2012
- a parent
My daughter started at University when we moved in the middle of her high school experience. The school faculty and staff couldn't have been more helpful through that transition; their caring and commitment continues to this day, as she prepares college applications. I've worked in education a long time and recognize quality when I see it. Excellent academics, varied extracurriculars, an accepting and inclusive spirit, and teachers' investment in student success...what more could you want?

University High School Of Indiana 5

Posted November 18, 2011
- a parent
Our daughter attended UHS and now is preparing to graduate from one of the best liberal arts colleges in the country. We are sure that University s preparation is what allowed that to happen. We are very fortunate that our daughter is both sociable and smart. She likely would have done fine at any high school. But the difference is huge between doing fine and, trite as it may sound, reaching one s potential. She grew enormously in her four years at Uni, having been challenged by her teachers and invigorated by her schoolmates. Her college adviser took a keen interest in her that made all the difference. And she was tremendously inspired by her mentor, with whom she developed a rewarding relationship that we are sure will make a permanent difference in her life. We will always be indebted to the wonderful people at UHS.


University High School Of Indiana 5

Posted September 28, 2011
- a parent
Our son went to University High School after attending a very small school. He was shocked at how hard UHS was compared to his old school. Every teacher expects near perfect work. This holding the students to a higher standard will pay off when he attends college. Would you rather learn how to do college level work before or after you start college? The mentor program is a great asset, if a student doesn't click with their mentor they can ask to change. Our sons mentor has been great. We saw a review here saying they had problems with their mentor and left the school. We wonder why they never asked for a change???? We can see how there has been some bad reviews, you can't please everyone all the time. If you are considering UHS just go visit and do a shadow day with a student. That's the only way you'll know for sure. Unlike a public school there's no social clicks or groups of different types of kids. Everyone mixes and mingles. The focus is on academics not what "CLASS" of citizen you are. No one here cares what you wear to school or what sport you play. Oh and no bullies either. As a student you can't walk these halls without being asked how you are doing 20 times a day.

University High School Of Indiana 5

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
Definitely the best private high school in the indiapolis are

University High School Of Indiana 1

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
It is mediocre at best. When people pay for a private education they deserve much much more.


University High School Of Indiana 0
no rating

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

University High School Of Indiana 5

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
This is an excellent school. I would recommend it to anyone looking for something smaller. We (parents) are so tired of these huge schools. The public schools have something for the above average and the below average, but the ones in the middle get lost. University challenges all students. They have a great teacher mentor program. They also have a program that helps them choose the college that's right for them. My son loved it and calls all the students, 'part of his family'.

University High School Of Indiana 5

Posted July 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


University High School Of Indiana 5

Posted October 30, 2007
- a parent
Absolutely fabulous! I haven't met a kid in the school who does not love this school. The academics are exceptional, teachers really know their subjects and enjoy teaching, plus the mentors go the second mile to cultivate each student's personal education. The school community is built on trust and personal responsibility. Life changing! Wish I'd gone to school here!

University High School Of Indiana 5

Posted June 05, 2007
- a former student
University is a great place for challenging the mind to pursue excellence.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

2825 West 116th Street
Carmel, IN 46032

School website
(317) 733-4475
(317) 733-4484

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University High School Of Indiana
2825 West 116th Street, Carmel, IN  46032
(317) 733-4475
Last modified University High School Of Indiana is a private school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
University High School Of Indiana Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.