Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kahler Middle School

Public | 5-8 | 1080 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

My school suck ! I hate it ! I wanna go to kahler middle school so bad ! But I can't cause my parents won't let me and I'm out state an I really want to to go that school but I guess I am not cause I am going to 8th grade and its my last year ! I wanna cry I just wanna go to that school so bad ! I love this school << kahler middle school !


Posted February 18, 2012

A Great School with complete teacher involvement including an easy Tutoring availability not just for struggling students and carries the National Junior Honors Society program that makes their students so much more than leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

I'm going to be an 8th grader at Kahler and I love the school. The teachers and staff are amazing and I can't wait to go back!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2009

I go to Kahler Middle School and it is wonderful im in 6th grade and i love all of my teachers but some are very strict and mean but that is what we need to be a good satudent
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2008

Most teachers are pretty nice; although, there are some that could be a little nicer.I learned how to properly punctuate the previous sentance at this school, so I am also getting a good education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

this school is outstanding


Posted August 13, 2007

I was a student at kahler from 2004-2007. The school is great! But I do think that my last year at Kahler was the worst. The new principal was horrible. She didnt work with any of the 8th graders the assistant principal did and whenever she talked to the 8th grade or the whole school she would have something bad to say to us. I didnt enjoy my last year at kahler as much as i thought i would. So good luck with the principal. -alyssa
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2005

I am a student of Kahler year 2005-2006. I am a 7th grader this year and love all of my teachers. I wouldn't recomened any other school to go to. My favorite teacher is Miss Moser(7th grade science and conflict revolution teacher).
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 8, 2004

I went to kahler 2 years. All the teachers were really nice. They all helped me with all my homework. The principals were really nice and caring. If I had a problem they would help me with whatever I needed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 5, 2004

I am not a parent, but I did go to Kalher for the 2002-2003 school year. I will say that Kalher was a great school and I miss it very much. When I first found out that I was going to go to Kalher I was nervus and I did not think that I would pass the seventh grade, but because of the excellent teachers and their teaching methods I passed with good grades. There are so many oppertunities for the students who do have trouble on tests and things to get help to understand it better. There are so many extracurricular activities so that a lot more students can participate in the fun of being on a team.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 72%
Hispanic 15% 10%
Asian 4% 2%
Black 4% 12%
Multiracial 3% 4%
American Indian 1% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A46%
Special education 12%N/A14%
English learners 3%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Joliet Street
Dyer, IN 46311
Website: Click here
Phone: (219) 865-3535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Saint Michael School
Schererville, IN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT