Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mary Feeser Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 547 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2009

I am a parent of a 5th grader and a 2nd grader. I am happy to say we have a new principal, and he is by far better than the last! Feeser is a great school with great parent involvement and terrific teachers. I also work in the school system at other elementary schools and would stack Feeser students, staff, and parents against any one of them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

All 3 of my kids attend- my oldest started in the 4th grade, my middle started in the 2nd, and my youngest in Kindergarten. For my oldest this is his 7th school & my middle it is his 3rd. So I have alot of experience w/ other schools. And I am very happy w/ the school, teachers. They are very caring & helpful when it comes to problem issues. This is my kids favorite school out of all of them they have attended. I really have great communications w/ the teachers. And that I give them 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

My daughters attended from K-4th grades. During the 4th grade year my oldest was failing with D's and F's. During a Parent & Teacher conference I asked the Teacher what she'd recommend to help bring the grades up and she shrugged her shoulders. Principal Myers is no longer there and should be a good thing. My wife and I pulled the girls out of the school system and enrolled them in a local Chrisitian based school. The grades went from D' & F's to Honor Roll the first 2 quarters they were there.Security within the public schools aren't what they are cracked up to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

This would be a great school for your child unless your child needs to be involved in the 'Special Education' program. I have an Autistic child and this school has no clue how to teach these children. Only 1 Special Education teacher who hardly works with the students at all. The students are mostly taught by assistants who have no training in what they are dealing with. The principal is impossible to work with and it takes several months to get the special needs equipment that my child needs, as well as Occupational and Speech Therapy. Please consider a different school if you have a special needs child. It is sad how these children are treated at Feeser.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This is a very good school overall. The principal could use a course in people skills and possibly leadership. Most of the students are very positive and there is a great deal of parent involvement. The secretary's are terrific and really seem to care about the students just as much as the teachers. Mrs. Yeoman is the best kindergarten teacher around and I couldn't be happier that my children were both fortunate enough to have been in her class room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

I think that the school itself is okay, but it needs a better principle.. there are many parents of current students who are not happy with some of the things that the current principle does, and the way that she handles certain situations.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 72%
Hispanic 14% 10%
Multiracial 9% 4%
Black 7% 12%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A46%
Special education 12%N/A14%
English learners 9%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

County Road N R
Elkhart Lake, IN 53020
Website: Click here
Phone: (574) 262-5586

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT