Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Canyon Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 464 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 31, 2010

I am sending my daughter to Cedar Canyon Elementary School and am pleased with the school 100%. The teachers are very good and the parents are involved with school activities. I feel very safe sending my daughter to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

I am very pleased with the teachers, principal and especially the P.E. teacher and fine arts teachers. The creativity and projects the art teacher brings out in the children is amazing. I will say the office staff, even after they know who you are, are not friendly and often act like they just met you. I think smiles for the visitors and polite small conversation is a must. They are the ones that make the first impression and it is not a good one. I have talked with several families and they all feel the same way. My son is getting an excellent education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

My son has been attending Cedar Canyon since 1st grade and he improved in all areas. He shows much interest in the school and has lots of friends there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

My son has attended here for two years now. We are most impressed with the principal and staff. Our son is receiving a good education, and any issues that may arise are addressed immediately. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

We recently relocated to Cedar Canyon from another state and are very, very pleased with the school. Our children were in private schools and had small class sizes, so we were concerned about the larger class sizes at Cedar Canyon (24 -26 or so). Not to worry!! The teachers are excellent, the principal and counselor are fantastic, and the school itself is warm and welcoming. We had an incident in the first month with a boy bothering our daughter and the principal called me right away and dealt with it on the spot. Couldn't ask for more. The office staff could warm up a little to us as parents, but that would be my only criticism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2007

I am very disappointed with most of my experiances with Cedar Canyon. I have 3 children ages from 14, 8, and 6 years old. My kids have been in private schools in Fort Wayne as well as a different district. I am let down by the numbers they allow in each class (25, 24, 24 for first grade), the unwillingness to meet the needs of my child after they have been identified unless I insist, and the cheeting that I personally have witness when working in the classroom and the teacher's aid did NOTHING about it. I fully understand the need for security but when a parent is identified at the office I would like to think they would be more welcoming to the volunteers. NOT the case.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

This is a great school. Not perfect, but only needs minor improvements. I have two children that attend this school and so far they are receiving a great education in a great enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 72%
Asian 4% 2%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Multiracial 4% 4%
Black 1% 12%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A46%
Special education 10%N/A14%
English learners 2%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15011 Coldwater Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46845
Phone: (260) 637-6101

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Heritage Mission
Huntertown, IN



Willowbrook Day School
Fort Wayne, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT