Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Goshen High School

Public | 9-12 | 1811 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2013

If feel like this is a very good school because it can prepare you well for college. I was able to get 15 COLLEGE CREDITS transferred so far due to the International Baccalaureate. I am also going to fight for some US History credits. Overall, this is a top notch school and I would recommend it, but the school is NOT the only one responsible for a their students success or failure rate of the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2012

I am a teacher at Goshen High School. In the past 10 years, we have improved soooooo much!!! We are a great school with great teachers and great students. We have a program for every student entering our building. We are an International Baccalaureate school, we provide a laptop to all incoming freshmen, a fantastic program for English Language Learners, our own television studio, a class that actually builds a house, and so much more! US News ranked us 12th in Indiana! Here's the link... http://www.usnews.com/education/best-high-schools/indiana/districts/goshen-community-schools/goshen-high-school-7232
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 27, 2009

is not true GHS is the best school in Indiana I feel sorry for people who dont go here


Posted July 22, 2008

My daughters were in music, theatre, and the sciences, and participated in the honors programs at GHS. The teaching staff is made up of adults very proficient in their subject areas who are dedicated to teaching students and working to help parents shape our children into young, caring individuals very prepared to face the world. I'm very impressed with the positive influences, the exceptional academics, and the kindness and caring for others, and the whole-school community building that Goshen High School faculty stresses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

Goshen High School has been an awesome experience for all three of my teenagers. My oldest daughter had the highest Math score her advisor had ever seen at Indiana University in Bloomington. The courses are challenging; the teachers are top-notch. GHS's music department is one of the top in the nation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

If scores do not do a school justice, that what does? Goshen scores a D- across the board in student scores, violence in the school, and the lack of support. There are some good teachers, but I question why they stay there when GHS fails so many in just letting them 'get by' to get their Federal Funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I have always been impressed with the quality education my children received and are receiving at GHS. The test scores do not do the school justice. Quality educators working hard to help all students. Impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

Goshen HS school was a huge let down. While some parents have said their children have enjoyed a quality education, mine has not. The administration has allowed the school to be overrun with gang-bangers & a less than ample security system. I can not recommend this school to any parents of special needs - special ed or IEP (ADD, AD/HD,or ODC).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

Goshen Community Schools and its educators and administrators are a consistently below average performers. Please see the link below. Goshen Community Schools http://mustang.doe.state.in.us/SEARCH/snapcorp.cfm?corp=2315 Not every child graduating from this district excels afterward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2004

Goshen is an awesome school. The music program is one of the best in the state and all the teachers are very caring. The entire educational staff welcome parents to visit and observe, I have done this on several occasions. Academic standards are high and the extracurricular programs are excellent. This is an excellent school for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
59%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
36%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

66%

Average SAT score

500

Graduation rate

87.9%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
55%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
34%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.5
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
19
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
79%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 72%
Hispanic 43% 10%
Black 2% 12%
Multiracial 2% 4%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A46%
Special education 14%N/A14%
English learners 19%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Lincolnway East
Goshen, IN 46526
Website: Click here
Phone: (574) 533-8651

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT