Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Center Grove High School 5

Posted March 29, 2014
- a student
Great affluent school, excellent curriculum, and strong extracurricular department- have attended since elementary school and loved it with no problems whatsoever

Center Grove High School 2

Posted March 01, 2014
- a student
Center Grove has nice academics but that's about all it has going for it. It's very white washed, barely any diversity, and many of the students are either racist or homophobic. Bullying is a major issue at the school and the school does nothing to fix it. The students are very snobby, materialistic, and cliquey. The teachers can be nice, but there have been some instances where staff members do some no no things. The academics are good, the Early College program is a fantastic opportunity. But the school focuses way too heavily on sports. In fact, most of the funding the school receives goes to sports; primarily football. The school could definitely use some more diversity in the meals. If your student is vegetarian, I would suggest you pack their lunch. Or else they'll eat nothing but salad and PB&J all year.


Center Grove High School 5

Posted July 21, 2012
- a parent
Awesome school, incredible staff, great athletes, world class musicians. Support both athletics and the arts. All schools are under budget stress so help the schools by being present for your student's and neighbor's events. Especially support the Arts since they involve such a broad spectrum of student involvment. The Arts are truly the producers of our most interesting and diverse future leaders ranging from the most creative leaders of corporations to world class musicians, artists, photographers,...etc. All students, no matter what interests they have deep inside need an avenue for growth and expression. We as a community can definitely benefit from proud students that have a sense of ownership within their school. As long as everyone gets along and shows support for one another, there will be no need to worry about our future as a society as long as God, respect for one another, and pride in our accomplishments are present in everything we do.

Center Grove High School 1

Posted May 09, 2011
- a student
I hated my time at CGHS because the students are very arrogant and ignorant to life outside their perfect bubble. Most students are very spoiled and self-centered. The school has no diversity (it's 96% white), religion, or background. Academic funds are lacking and programs get cut a lot. Thy considered cutting the school nurse and cut seeral language prorams, but the football team got a multi-million dollar locker room so they would not have to walk from the locker room they already had inside to the field. Administative staff is very rude. There are a few good teachers but it is a cold enviroment where you are a number, not a person. If you are not white, an athlete, from an upper middle class family, and spoiled to have the best cars, clothes, and electronics without having to work for them you will fit in great here. If you are like the majority of young adult and have to work you will be outcasted as poor. I actually come from an uppr-middle class family, but they don't hand things to me and students found that abusive because they have no idea what reality is. I am at a prestigious 4 year university now and spend most of my time unlearning what I was taught at CG.

Center Grove High School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2009
- a community member
Most people at Center Grove have a 'better than most' mentality. The school is dominated by sport-fanatic teachers and parents, and while the sports teams are among the best in the state, the education and the experiences that teenagers should be getting in high school are an abomination. Anyone that doesn't fit the 'jock' mold is looked down upon by the school's many cliques. If you decide to send your children here, I hope they want to be a professional ahtlete, because otherwise you are wasting your money.


Center Grove High School 5

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Center Grove High School 3

Posted January 13, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Center Grove High School 5

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
My kids like CGH because they think it's a lot of fun, but I love it because of the high quality education they're getting.


Center Grove High School 5

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
My kids love CGHS. I love the fact that they will graduate with an associates degree.

Center Grove High School 5

Posted January 09, 2008
- a community member
The average CG student is white and comes from an upper middle class conservative family. He/she is probably involved in 1-2 sports in addition to a club. Center Grove is an excellent school. Cliques are plentiful and many of the kids come from very 'well off' families. The affluence does not foster many 'snobby' kids. Most of the kids there are friendly. Athletics as well as extra- curriculars such as band and choir are taken very seriously! CG enjoys one of the premier athletic programs in the state and nationally reknowned music programs. In my opinion the academic achievements of the school can be misleading. I believe they are the result of good parents pushing their kids towards academic goals rather than specific teaching methods implemented by teachers. Nonetheless, Center Grove does an excellent job of preparing kids for college. There is a place there for everyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Center Grove High School
2717 South Morgantown Road, Greenwood, IN  46143
(317) 881-0581
Last modified Center Grove High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Center Grove High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews.