Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

V O Isom Central Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 402 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

my daughter just started going to Isom this year and so far i have to say i love this school she really loves going and really loves her teacher i would tell anyone to have their kids go there its wonderful!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

Fantastic Teachers. My kids have loved every one of them. The teachers and staff seem very dedicated to advancing the minds of the children. Would recommend the school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

I student taught in Mrs. Holcroft's first grade classroom and enjoyed every minute of it. I could tell that the school's goal was to reach every child. The staff was friendly and acted like a family. I would recommend this school to everyone who wants their child to receive great education and be in a positive environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 31, 2011

I have a mixed review. I have 2 children in this school and while with my first grader I have only good things to say about the KG and 1st Grade teacher he has had. My daughter has not been so lucky. Her KG teacher seems to be at a loss and I have had to work very hard to keep my daughter on track. I love the schools office staff but I think it is hit and miss with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2010

My daughter is a KG and a student of Mrs. Carver. I have been so impressed with ISOM's dedication and support for the children. Mrs. Carver is an amazing teacher along with her two classroom assistants. Everytime I go in the school I'm greeted by the friendly staff. I love that all of the staff is a "hands on staff". It's in a great community with such a great small town feel to it! Thank you to all who work at ISOM! I appreicate you all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I love Isom because the teachers really care about the students. It is a very close-knit community, and the parents and teachers really are there to help each other out. I love the principal especially, Mrs. Wooten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

My daughter Angelique is in Kindergarden at Isom And all I have is good things to say.Her teacher Mrs. Carver is wonderful, a teacher who cares about these students. Mrs. Wooton is the Principle of this school and she has been remarkable all the children seem to really enjoy her being the Principle. Since the first day of school till today I see so much growth within my daughter not just in the basic but in her attitude, her behavior, etc. I would highly recommend Isom to any new parent looking for a great school to enroll their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

Our daughter just started kindergarten this past year at ISOM. I've been beyond impressed by the faculty and staff at this school. Every morning we're greeted at the door with a smile. It seems every teacher knows every student by first name, and you can tell that the environment is warm and inviting to the kids. We've been wowed by how quickly our daughter has been learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

We have two daughers at Isom and we love it. Both my daughters are involved in various Isom activities and the teachers are wonderful. My oldest daughter has Celiac disease, and the teachers, principle, nurse down to the art and gym teacher have been absolutely wonderful handling this challange. We love Isom and will contiue to show our support toward the school. Our oldest was to go to Westwood, but we moved into Isom land. Evrything is so personal and teachers know you and your child by name. I would recommed Isom to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

2007-2008 has been the first that we have had a child in school and Isom is wonderful. The front office staff are very helpful and nice. Mrs. Prewitt always has a smile on her face and know kids by name. My son's teacher, Mrs. Carver is a delight. She has helped my son through some rough times. Isom is the school district that you want to be in. We love Isom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

I have had two children at isom. This is very sad because over the last few years I have really enjoyed this school,staff, and parents. This school is wonderful if you spend one day youll know why we all love VOISOM so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2004

I have 2 children that go to VO ISOM School and both are doing very well because the teachers are very caring and involved. The Principal is also very involved with the hands on day to day activities involving the school. I see her almost every time I go there, not in her office, but in the classrooms, library, lunchroom etc. involved in the normal daily school activites and learning. You couldn't ask for a better group of teachers. They are not only teachers, but mentors, nurturers and are good listeners when the children need them. I would recomend this school to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

I really like the quality of the school. The principal and the teachers are very caring, supportive to each child. My daughter not only lovers her school, but is very is happy to go every morning. What more could you want? I would like to say thank you to all the staff for being so very wonderful. I recommend this school to any parent who is considering a move to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 72%
Hispanic 8% 10%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Asian 2% 2%
Black 2% 12%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A46%
Special education 11%N/A14%
English learners 6%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Sondra Wooton
Fax number
  • (317) 889-4115

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 E Broadway St.
Greenwood, IN 46143
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 889-4070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT