Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Academy In The Oaks

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hobart

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2013

Montessori Academy in the Oaks located in Hobart, IN is in my opinion the best hidden little secret! I was searching for a Montessori School and found out about this one from a neighbor familiar with the area. My daughter has attended school there for the past 4 years. She started in the toddler program and is now part of the elementary class. The academic learning is outstanding! She is exposed to much more challenging learning experiences than most other schools can offer! I am a teacher and very familiar with other curriculums . My husband and myself feel very fortunate to have found such a wonderful learning environment for our daughter! I mean doesn't every parent want the best for their child!! Check it out!! Come meet the friendly well trained hardworking staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

Montessori in the Oaks is fantastic. Wonderful quality of curriculum and staff! My daughter loves going!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

We are so happy we chose Montessori Academy in the Oaks for our children. From the moment you walk through the door, you realize the focus is on the children. They are a non-profit school so they do not see the children as a dollar sign. Our son is in the Toddler Program and has learned so much. The patience the teachers have with the young children is incredible! They make each experience a "teachable moment". He has become more independent and confident through their guidance. We made the decision to have our daughter stay at Montessori for Kindergarten (even though we live in a great school district). She had a small class size which left more time for the teacher to focus on their individual learning styles. They do not "teach for the test" here. She studied Science, History, Practical Life, Art, Music, and Spanish along with reading and math. We want to thank the excellent staff for doing such a wonderful job with our children. We could not think of a better place for them to grown and learn! If you want a quality education for your child, this is the place to start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2011

My daughter has attended MAITO for three years and she has THRIVED at this school. The teachers and materials are a little old-fashioned, but the education is child-centered and everyone at the school does what it takes to help children understand a variety of concepts and become lifelong learners. The children have some freedom to choose the topics that mos interest them, while at the same time the teacher steers them toward learning the basic tools of learning (math, reading, scientific method) to enhance all areas of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

My husband and I LOVE this school. Our oldest son, 4yr old, will be starting his 3rd year of preschool along with our 3yr old son will be on his 2nd year of preschool. It has taught our boys so much at such a young age, and the staff is nothing but amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

We love Montessori acadamy in the oaks! My son is a student in the elementry class. He has attended MAITO since kindergarden and loves it. The teachers are excellent and are very attentive to the education needs of the children. We are very proud to be part of this family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Miss Donna is wonderful with the littlest children - she is patient, creative and hard working. Mr. Aaron, is a new teacher with the older preschoolers and my kids love him and the environment. The school has a nice community feel and they work hard to bring lots of great opportunities to the school - from Spanish, to athletics, to chess to a reading club
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 74%
Black 19% 12%
Hispanic 19% 7%
American Indian N/A 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Multiracial 0% 4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms Carol Sistanich
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (219) 942-3314

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2109 57th Ave
Hobart, IN 46342
Phone: (219) 942-9410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT