GreatSchools Rating

Winchester Village Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 592 students

We are best known for diversity.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

My grandson is a student at Winchester Village, let me start by saying that he has been harassed this entire school year. They have a teachers aide that spends her day acusing this 5 year old child of one infraction after another. Friday evening he informed me that he did not receive any Valentine's because he was talking in the lunch room and had to spend the day in the office. This is a 5 year old child. It seems to me that this 20 somethings ego is more important to her than the children. At this point if indeed the harassment continues, I will be forced to contact an attorney to file discrimination charges against the school and the teachers. This child is highly intellegent and is not being challenged in this environment. Submitted by a concerned grandmother!


Posted November 8, 2011

I had my 2nd grader in Winchester Village & recently just withdrew her from there because of conflict(s) with her teacher's ego. The staff will protect their teacher's over the children. They segregate children into groups (the stronger vs. the rest left behind). I would volunteer & got to see for myself the lack of teaching that goes on there. I would have to repeat the same concerns over & over trying to get them to help my daughter be a better, more successful student. They don't like it when you go to them & try to help. They take it as an attack on their teaching, rather than skills or tools to help with your child. Not structured classes & bogus "Centers" that really are children teaching themselves or rather cheating &playing around. They have a lunch policy that makes me think they don't like children. They'll make your child walk 2 laps for talking during lunch time & 4 times if caught again & the 3rd, well the Principals office. I bet they talk in the teacher's lounge!! They leave children behind & placate the parents. I've even heard teacher's yelling at students giving them a tongue lashing. I do not recommend this school for any student with a learning disability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

Let me just start off by saying that I, myself attended Winchester as a child. My previous school burned down (a private Christian school) and this was the elementary school in our district. My has been there since kindergart & is now going into 4th grade. My daugher is going into 1st. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE SCHOOL & ADORE THE STAFF. Winchester is a FAMILY. That's how the ENTIRE staff treats EACH & EVERY student. There aren't any "favorites". What I consider AWESOME is that THE ENTIRE OFFICE STAFF knows each & every child by name. (Huge BENEFIT of being a small school.) My son has Aperger's along w/a few other "issues". My dauughter also has aa few "issues" of her own. Winchester is the "PERFECT SCHOOL" for that kind of situation. I would not trade schools for ANYTHING. Thank you WINCHESTER STAFF for being SOOO WONDERFUL & treating my children AS IF THEY WERE YOUR OWN. You are truly special. EACH & EVERYONE OF YOU.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

This is the second year my children have attended WV. Their teachers have been nothing but caring and professional. I volunteer at the school as well. I can honestly say most of their classmates know my name. I have to admit that most days I am there I am glad some of these children are not mine. Their behavior is disrepectful to teachers and their peers. So much time is wasted continuously reprimanding the same children. I just wish more adults were involved with their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

My son is a Kindergartener at Winchester Village and his teacher always keeps me informed of everything, has worked with him a lot and is always willing to help more. Everyone at Winchester is very helpful and is always goig above & beyond. For a little boy who never went to daycare, he is doing awesome thanks to his wonderful teacher, Mrs. Buscemi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I am very upset with this school. My child is hyper and the school does not seem to understand how to help him learn. They have asked about his doctor and brought up medicating him many times. The first time was the third day!! He gets into trouble and everyday I have to throw away candy that they bribe him with! I knew it would be hard but I also thought they would know how to help him learn instead of him working them. I'm so frustrated with this school I actually found this site looking for a new one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

My son attended this school for 2 years and we absolutely loved it! The principal, office staff, and my son's teachers were all wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

This is a wonderful school. We moved here from New Castle and within a couple days, the faculty knew me by name when I walked in the door. They have been nothing but helpful and my kids have blossomed while attending. My oldest got honor roll for the first time ever after just 2 grading periods. Every concern I have had has been handled immediately and they are very good about parent involvement and making sure the kids are taken care of. I have no complaints. I've been through a lot of school systems and the faculty here is by far the best. Mr. Rohl (principal) is the most involved I have ever seen and he goes above and beyond for each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

I have not been real inpressed with this school my 3 childeren went to southport elem. and was a lot better with my kids. I can say that when I went to the school to inroll them we were treated well but we have had problems with some of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

My two children attend Winchester Village Elementary. We are very pleased with the administration and faculty. What stands out to me most is the positive attitude of all staff and administration. Also, the children are given a lot encouragement and recognition. We love it!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 29% 72%
Hispanic 27% 10%
Asian 23% 2%
Black 15% 12%
Multiracial 6% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A46%
Special education 9%N/A14%
English learners 37%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Chin
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:40 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr Douglas Smith
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (317) 865-2703

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chin
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Just Say No Club
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Spell Bowl
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School colors
  • black, gold
School mascot
  • Wild Cats
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Perry Meridian 6th Grade Academy, Southport 6th Grade Academy
Perry Meridian Middle School, Southport Middle School
Perry Meridian High School, Southport High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 East Stop 12 Road
Indianapolis, IN 46227
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 789-2700

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download