Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) 1

Posted March 10, 2014
- a community member
VIOLENT, that is it. This school is so violent and out of control. The teachers and principals do nothing for the kids and they could care less if the child were to break an arm during the fights this school has. All there is is fights. Students going to the nurse daily and it is unsafe, even me as a parent does not want to even visit the school because I could get hurt. I do not like this school. This also goes the same for the Intermediate Academy crammed upstairs. They even make all of the gym and cafeteria is all down stairs and the children can get hurt. Also this entire district has decided to put 5th graders, who should still be in the Elementary Schools, upstairs and with the 6th, 7th, and 8th graders. This is even more unsafe for them because they are smaller. Lots of students are fighting up there but it is reduced because they are all in class, but usually all day they just deny their teachers. Many kids also have lots of foul language in this school. This school has no control over any of their students and you should most definitely not send them here. -From the eyes of a parent and student.

Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) 2

Posted February 17, 2013
- a parent
This is not the school to send your child to if you want commication from teachers and want your child to be succesful! There are so many kids going to this school and no structure at all. Your child will just be just another number. The teachers could care less if your child fails and in fairness to them it is probably due their classroom size. Not to mention the fights that happen. It is not what you call a good peaceful environment for your child to learn!

Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) 3

Posted March 27, 2011
- a community member
If your looking for a good peaceful environment to learn Stony brook is not the place trust me after they did redistricting it really sucks.

Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) 5

Posted December 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) 0
no rating

Posted February 28, 2009
- a student
AS a former student in 6-8 the school had poor disclpine they many excepled many have clicks and it is hard to make friend it is hard school to go to

Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) 5

Posted April 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) 5

Posted April 18, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) 5

Posted February 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) 4

Posted November 30, 2006
- a parent
Dedicated staff and extracurriculars! This is the 5th consecutive year I've had a child at Stonybrook and I continue to be impressed by the school's programs and recognition of student achievement.

Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) 0
no rating

Posted November 05, 2004
- a student
I think that Stonybrook Middle School is a great school! I'm in my 2nd year there now. The teachers love to teach and love to help out others. They really have 100% in their work with us!

Nearby schools

Contact Information

11300 Stony Brook Drive
Indianapolis, IN 46229

School website
(317) 532-8800
(317) 532-8899

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stonybrook Middle School (7-8)
11300 Stony Brook Drive, Indianapolis, IN  46229
(317) 532-8800
Last modified Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) is a public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stonybrook Middle School (7-8) Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.