Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Indianapolis, IN
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Nora Elementary School, an International Baccalaureate World School, is located in the Metropolitan School District of Washington Township (MSDWT), and is situated in the northern section of Indianapolis, Indiana and Marion County. It is a dynamic community with broad diversity in cultures, religions, ethnic groups, races and socioeconomic levels. MSDWT has been an educational leader in Indiana for the last forty years. We hope that beyond this website, you will visit the MSD of Washington Township website at http://www.msdwt.k12.in.us/ where you can also access the Nora Elementary School website, and every website of each of our seven elementary schools, three middle schools, and North Central High School. Beyond our websites, we invite you to plan a visit to any one of our schools, and see firsthand why Washington Township schools are superior schools, in a supportive community. Nora Elementary School offers a comprehensive educational curriculum with special activities and programs geared to provide enrichment, exploration, and instructional support for students. Nora is also proud to provide excellent opportunities for students to participate in outstanding performing arts, fine arts, academic teams, publications, athletics, and other student activities. Very valuable to the administration, is the role that parents have always played in the operations of our school through a very supportive Parent Teacher Organizations (PTO). All Nora students move through one of our district s three middle schools, and eventually to the MSDWT flagship high school, North Central. North Central High School has the finest high school curriculum in the State of Indiana. It annually produces the highest number of students taking Advanced Placement exams and scoring high enough to earn college credits. North Central High School was the first high school in Indiana to offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma program. The high school also offers programs that allow students to earn the North Central Academic Honor Diploma and the Indiana Academic Honors Diploma. North Central High School also has the distinction of being Indiana s number two high school in the number of Indiana athletic championships. The MSDWT provides quality education in award winning schools built on a foundation of outstanding educators, administrators, school board members, and supportive parents. Our vision is Superior Schools in a Supportive Community. Come and experience excellence in education, today in our school district.
December 30, 2014

5 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

24 reviews of this school


Nora Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2015
- a teacher
I love Nora! The staff here provides a safe and nurturing environment for all students. Student diversity is celebrated and supported each and every day. The community involvement with the school is unbelievable, as countless volunteers work to support students. When you walk through the halls of the school, you can easily see that every staff member is committed to helping students grow academically, socially, and emotionally. I am so honored to get to work here everyday!

Nora Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
Nora is a great school school in a supportive community. The Nora staff embraces the very diverse learners that they serve. They provide excellent educational programming for all students; however, with more state funding, they could provide even more opportunities for students beyond the traditional school day.

Nora Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
Nora's teachers and administration are committed to each and every student. It is so refreshing to see the innovative practices being implemented each and every time i'm in the building!

Nora Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a community member
I have lived in the neighborhood near Nora for 12 years and am now involved at Nora as a volunteer tutor. I consistently encounter a place and a people of excellence. It is more than obvious that the administration, teachers, and staff genuinely care about the students and are striving to invest their best in the students and their education. The school culture is caring, supportive, family-oriented, and student-centered. I am thrilled to be a part of this school!

Nora Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
I can honestly say that working at Nora is my dream job! Nora is a wonderful and unique place. Even among all of our diversity, I have never seen a school that has such a special sense of community. The administration and staff go above and beyond to help students feel safe, loved, and grow as learners. You can't help but smile walking through the halls and seeing the students, teachers, and countless volunteers all working together to make Nora the place that it is.

Nora Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a community member
Walk into Nora Elementary and you are instantly aware of the wonderful environment for children to learn and grow. The visionary, effective, and compassionate leadership is evident. The staff is positive, caring, enthusiastic and student centered. There is a real team feeling with everyone pulling together to help each student grow to be all they can become. Student diversity creates a rich environment for learning. As a volunteer, I feel privileged to be part of the school community of excellence that is Nora Elementary.

Nora Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
Nora is part of Washington Township Schools located in Indianapolis, IN. Washington Township has been a standard bearer for excellence in education throughout the state of Indiana for decades. Students are challenged academically, nurtured socially, and supported by dedicated and committed staff. Parents of the Washington Township community along with community leaders have provided over $4million to support innovation in the classroom through the Washington Township Schools Foundation. Washington Township is dedicated to the education of the whole child. All students in grades K-10 are provided a second language learning experience. Opportunities for students to experience leadership and community service are embedded in the culture of this diverse and exceptional district.

Nora Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2015
- a teacher
Nora Elementary is surrounded by a strong community of support. Nora has partners with various organizations, local universities, and an amazing PTO who collaborates with the staff and community encouraging active family engagement. There is a school-wide climate of high expectation for each child. Nora Elementary offers an International Baccalaureate Primary Year Programme where students are challenged to develop and excel in both personal and academic achievement. Teachers engage students to become globally-minded students looking at issues in a variety of ways developing high order thinking skills. Strong relationships are built between staff, students and families at Nora Elementary. The staff is warm, enthusiastic, and supports strong social and emotional student growth. Nora Elementary has a visionary leadership team who takes action every day to provide a healthy community where each child receives a high-quality education.

Nora Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2015
- a teacher
Outstanding staff with supportive parents that creates a wonderful learning environment for students! Washington Township Schools are one of few public school districts in the nation offering International Baccalaureate (IB) to all students in all schools!

Nora Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 30, 2014
- a school leader
Nora Elementary School, an International Baccalaureate World School, is located in the Metropolitan School District of Washington Township (MSDWT), and is situated in the northern section of Indianapolis, Indiana and Marion County. It is a dynamic community with broad diversity in cultures, religions, ethnic groups, races and socioeconomic levels. MSDWT has been an educational leader in Indiana for the last forty years. We hope that beyond this website, you will visit the MSD of Washington Township website at http://www.msdwt.k12.in.us/ where you can also access the Nora Elementary School website, and every website of each of our seven elementary schools, three middle schools, and North Central High School. Beyond our websites, we invite you to plan a visit to any one of our schools, and see firsthand why Washington Township schools are superior schools, in a supportive community. Nora Elementary School offers a comprehensive educational curriculum with special activities and programs geared to provide enrichment, exploration, and instructional support for students. Nora is also proud to provide excellent opportunities for students to participate in outstanding performing arts, fine arts, academic teams, publications, athletics, and other student activities. Very valuable to the administration, is the role that parents have always played in the operations of our school through a very supportive Parent Teacher Organizations (PTO). All Nora students move through one of our district s three middle schools, and eventually to the MSDWT flagship high school, North Central. North Central High School has the finest high school curriculum in the State of Indiana. It annually produces the highest number of students taking Advanced Placement exams and scoring high enough to earn college credits. North Central High School was the first high school in Indiana to offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma program. The high school also offers programs that allow students to earn the North Central Academic Honor Diploma and the Indiana Academic Honors Diploma. North Central High School also has the distinction of being Indiana s number two high school in the number of Indiana athletic championships. The MSDWT provides quality education in award winning schools built on a foundation of outstanding educators, administrators, school board members, and supportive parents. Our vision is Superior Schools in a Supportive Community. Come and experience excellence in education, today in our school district.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nora Elementary School
1000 East 91st Street, Indianapolis, IN  46240
(317) 844-5436
Last modified Nora Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nora Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top