Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
129 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Angels Catholic School
Grateful to: Student

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
The students at HACS are our future. Keep charging ahead and never give up! You can persevere!!!!

Holy Angels Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
Teachers seem underqualified and often cannot answer basic questions. It is a small school yet some teachers are teaching multiple grade levels in one room. The principal is also teaching one class because they cannot retain their teachers. High turn over every year.

Holy Angels Catholic School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
Sometimes it's a lot, many days they can go without homework at all. It's not consistent.

Holy Angels Catholic School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
No. This school needs to challenge and push it's students to try harder and to excel. I do not see many of these students being IVY league bound, which is the purpose of parents enrolling their children into a private school.

Holy Angels Catholic School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
The students seem very respectful to me, I cannot say if that comes from the school or the home.

Holy Angels Catholic School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
The students are pretty good kids, full of life. Whether or not that comes from the school or home, I cannot say. The school did recently have a food drive.

Holy Angels Catholic School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
I don't feel that the school is morally corrupt. However, I do feel that they tout a zero tolerance policy but do not back up what they preach. Students sign a contract but are not held to the agreement. One of my child's best friends were removed from the school by his parents because the administration didn't do anything about him being bullied.

Holy Angels Catholic School 1

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
There is no doubt that the school administration "tries." Trying is not good enough when your students are failing. There is a lack of communication with parents overall. The new principal is also teaching because they cannot afford quality teachers. She's pulled so thin that she cannot do her job. That in itself speaks volumes to the lack of resources the school has to provide quality education. It amazes me that ANY private school can be rated F. I was told at one point this school was a pillar of excellence. What happened?

Holy Angels Catholic School
no rating

Posted March 01, 2010
- a community member
This review is in response to the June 9th posting about Holy Angels. Anyone who has read this review can obviously tell this person doesn't have the quality education to write a constructive review. Holy Angels is a quality institution of learning. I have witnessed first hand the care that the teachers and administrators give towards the children at this school. There are many many opportunities given to these students to achieve at the highest level. Every school has discipline problems. To say they don't would be ridiculous. I would definately send my child to Holy Angels. They will learn to the highest degree and will also learn how to respect self and others.

Holy Angels Catholic School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a teacher
Holy Angels Catholic School is a prize in the community. It has provided excellent educational opportunities for over 102 years to the residents of the Martin Luther King Street area and the larger Indianapolis community. Many of its graduates have gone on to be prominent leaders in our community. We celebrate the cultural diversity received at Holy Angels Catholic school and also the unique opportunity to learn about self as a people of success through the centuries. Many of Holy Angels recently graduated students return year after year to help with various events at the school and maintain respect, positive attitudes, caring, awareness and good manners that defines a successful individual. Like all parents who care about the success of their children, Holy Angels parents make an investment in their children by using this educational institution. I recommend Holy Angels Catholic School in Indianapolis to any parent wanting a place to send their children.

Nearby schools

Holy Angels Catholic School
2822 Doctor Martin Luther King Junior Street, Indianapolis, IN  46208
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (317) 926-5211
Last modified Holy Angels Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top