GreatSchools Rating

Hasten Hebrew Academy

Private | PK-8 | 130 students

We are best known for Judaic education and high ISTEP results

 
 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $147,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

The Hasten Hebrew Academy is a special place. Our children receive an award-winning education in math, science, language arts, humanities, art, and music, while making time for study of Judaic subjects and the Hebrew language. The environment is conducive to learning because class sizes are small and the teachers come to know the strengths and challenges of each child. The Middle School is special because the children are taught according to ability rather than grade. This enables each of them to learn at an appropriate pace and alleviates social pressures because all three grade levels are mixed together. The future success of my two children will be in large part due to this school, its amazing teachers, and its incredible principal. The Hasten Hebrew Academy is making sure that our children are being educated and raised to be responsible individuals who know who they are and who self-identify as Jews in a largely secular environment. I encourage anyone with a Jewish background to check out this school for their Preschool/Elementary age children. I promise you won't regret it and I only wish I could have attended this school when I was growing up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

My school is a great school because it gave is ipads. My school can improve by letting us have more lunch choices.


Posted April 8, 2014

Hasten Hebrew Academy of Indianapolis is a gem of a school, Kdg -8th grade. Many times the classes and special programs are integrated amongst grades, so my kids have interaction with students younger and older than themselves. As parents, we love the special interest shown by teachers in our children. Many times my kids are given individualized homework, to make sure they're working at the appropriate level and being appropriately challenged. Small class size is a huge benefit to each student. The school also makes a big effort to remain competitive in sports, offering soccer, basketball and girls volleyball, grades 4-8. HHAI competes against other schools in the Indianapolis area independent school league. We are experiencing an excpetional secular and Judaic education for our 3 kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Our school has Master teachers and has an especially strong science program. The foundation is the FOSS hands-on science curriculum and supplemented so that all the Indiana Science Standards are met. We also integrate the Common Core expectations and cross curriculum integration in Art and Judaic studies. Our classes are differentiated to meet each student's individual needs. Our students are using the latest technology as our 5th-8th graders have 1:1 iPads and use them in each class daily. Our small class sizes allow teachers to know their students and meet their needs. Our school is a wonderful blend of Judaic studies and secular studies. We are very proud of our school and achievements.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

My school is Hasten Hebrew Academy of Indianapolis and my son has been attending the school since pre-school. He is now a 4th grader. Hasten Hebrew Academy is a Jewish Day school that provides stellar Judaic and secular education from preschool through 8th grade. My son is thriving with the small classes and individualize attention. His teachers are very accessible. Technology is woven throughout the curriculum with access to computers in labs as well as the classroom. 5th thru 8th grader receive their own IPADS that they use throughout the school day. Included in the weekly learning, are Art, Music, P.E., Library and Technology classes taught by discipline specific teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

My school meets or exceeds state standards for secular education and encourages collaborative study using the latest technology. Students learn to work together. Differentiation enables students to work at their own levels. The Judaic curriculum gives the students a sense of pride in their religion and a strong foundation for future Jewish studies.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about the Hasten Hebrew Academy. The teachers are great and always helpful and they really try their best to make my kids as successful as they can possibly be. I have found myself in awe at times at how dedicated the teachers can be to their students and how passionate they are about their work. I'm really happy with the school and at times where I have thought about moving (to be closer to family), one big drawback for me has been the idea of not having my kids go to HHAI anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

The Hasten Hebrew Academy is a treasure in the community of Indianapolis. Our principal is an outstanding educator who is respected and admired by her staff, the parents, and the students. The teachers are committed to each student being the best student and person that they can be. My kids have thrived in its loving and nurturing environment and also grown as students because of its rigorous academic standards.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

Wonderful preK-8 Jewish day school on the north side of Indianapolis. This school has excellent programs in Judaic studies, math, science, and humanities. Class size is small and students are given opportunities to explore their interests. Grades 5-8 work in 1-1 ipad program where students learn to organize and use technology as a resource for learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

I love that our school starts at age 18 months and goes through 8th grade. We really get to see the students mature as students and as citizens. My school offers students an excellent education, but also stresses the importance of honesty, kindness, collaboration, and being part of a greater community. It's a great place for children, teachers and families. It really feels like home!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 6, 2010

The Hasten Hebrew Academy is a fantastic school, and that includes the teachers, staff, administrators, students, as well as the families that comprise this small but very special community. The school is a beautiful facility, sitting between two orthodox shuls and being right across the street from the JCC of Indianapolis. Eli Lilly and Company has also made generous contributions to the Academy, providing an amazing living arts auditorium. But most impressive, thanks to the Hasten family and many other generous benefactors, this schools motto is that 'no Jewish child will do without a Jewish education because of the lack of finances'. We now live in Illinois, but my son attended pre-school there. But, I think it's safe to say that 'we left our hearts in Indianapolis'.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 74%
Black 3% 12%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Multiracial 2% 4%
American Indian N/A 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 7%N/AN/A
Special education 8%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/AN/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Spanish
Hebrew
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • "A" school state of Indiana (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Hebrew
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:35 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Miriam Gettinger
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (317) 479-3123

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Hebrew
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Jewish Federation of Greater Indianapolis
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Spell Bowl
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Blue and White
School mascot
  • Stars
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
private preschools
public schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Application fee
Yes. $100.
No fee waivers available

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
North Central High School
Brebeuf
University High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6602 Hoover Road
Indianapolis, IN 46260
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 251-1261

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Orchard School
Indianapolis, IN


Christ Church/Child Care
Indianapolis, IN


Westlane Middle School
Indianapolis, IN



Sycamore School
Indianapolis, IN


St. Luke School
Indianapolis, IN


Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download