GreatSchools Rating

Jeremiah Gray-Edison Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 658 students

We are best known for high expectations for students and staff
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2013

this is my son's 3rd year at Jeremiah Gray-Edison. He is thriving in his classes. The Teachers are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Jeremiah Gray Edison, is a great school, but the teacher;s are what makes it so special . They really care about the students and always have their best interest @ heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

On the very first day of my daughters' Kindergarten year, the teacher put my daughter on the bus despite having a conversation with her asking that she not be put on the bus the very first day. When her father went to pick her up from school, she was not there. When I called the school while at work to ask why she was put on the bus after distinctly having a conversation with her teacher not to do as such, I was blamed for not following procedures and protocol by the principal and secretary of the school. If there was a certain protocol to follow, how am I to know if the teacher does not tell me? Additionally, I asked to sit down with the teacher and principle and the teacher refused to address my concerns. She would only talk to me over the phone. I felt that there was no care in how we felt about what had occurred. We were frightened, as well as our daughter. They refused to call transportation to make sure that she wasn't dropped off at home without a parent present. It was a big mess. They were very rude to us. Additionally, they seemed very unorganized because they lost my daughters enrollment packet and immunization record 3 times over the summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

Awesome school! One of only two four star schools in our district (both Edison schools) and we may lose it if the referendum doesn't get passed in our district. Sad situation as two of my children have already graduated, but I have one child left who is 1 year away from graduating. If this referendum doesn't get passed she may not be able to graduate from the only school she's attended since kindergarten! The teachers are excellent and there is a lot of parental involvement. This is due to the great job Ms. Fox and her staff do to contribute to our children's education. I wish all schools did as great a job and we wouldn't have a lot of the problems we have in our schools today. JGE is the place we want to be and to keep! Please Vote Yes for Perry Schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love my school because we have a wonderful TEAM of parents, teachers, staff and administration that all work together to benefit our students, children and school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My expierence with JG-E so far has been excellent. Very good school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

I had three children attending this school last year and now only have one there currently. In my opinion if you have a child in Special Education you may not want to send them to this school. Very poor Special Education staff and way of teaching special education students. Mainstream children do really well but special education students do not. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

my son started kindergarten the year this school opened. we couldn't be happier with this school. not only do the teachers provide specialized instruction to struggling students, they also get students involved who need a challenge over and above the normal curriculum. i highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

I have 3 sons 2 of them had/are attending JGE. We've also been in other Indianapolis and Madison County school districts and from what I have seen, JGE is an excellent school that teaches core values and they have excellent communication between the teacher and parent. I am a volenteer in my sons class. I observe and listen to the kids and from what I see and hear, they all like their teacher and school a lot. I would highly recommend JGE to any parent without hesitation. ~Proud JGE parent~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

Jeremiah Grey is the best school ever!!! I have never seen a school more dedicated to the students and the parents! My daughter is a Kindergartner and she loves it!!! Every day is my daughter wakes up she is excited to go to school!! She loves her special classes and her teacher is the best!! I woud and have recommended JGE to everyone that I have meet with children! It would be nice for some of the other schools to have the same values that JGE has, which is very hard to come by!!! The principal Mrs. Fox is just truly amazing!!!! I can not say enough great things about her, I am so glad that she is the new principal!!! I could go on and on about how wonderful JGE is, but you will just have to go there and see what all the fuss is all about!!! JGE Rocks!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Even if I had twenty years of experience and hand picked the top teachers and staff from Indiana, I would have a difficult time beating what is already the status-quo at Jeremiah Gray. I have four children and have seen many different elementary schools in Indianapolis area. This is by far the best! I can not say enough to help endorse this school other than...experience this yourself! Go visit, and be sure to talk with the principal Mrs. P-H!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

The school administration would get a negative rating if that option were available. Very poor ethics. The teachers are of average quality for a public school. We have a special education child & a mainstream child attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2007

I have read previous posts and believe JG-E is an excellent school for the average student, however their program, as implemented, leaves much to be desired for the special education students. I have a child with autism and have found the staff under trained, and in flexible about trying proven techniques for working with children on the spectrum, which is contrary to the Edison design. This is still a public school and my child has just as much right to have access to the wonderful programs offered as children not on the spectrum. The Edison cirriculum professes to differentiate the program to each student but at this school that is not put into practice very well. This school has the potential for greatness, therefore I choose to keep my children in this school and work within the school to improve the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

I think that this school is great. I have 3 children that go here. My son went to another school for 3 years and his reading grades were not to good. He started this school in the third grade and they noticed his problem in 2 weeks. All my kids love the school. The staff is great JGE is the place my kids want to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2006

The standards and expectations are high at JGE. While it is not a private school, the individualized attention has been remarkable. Under the guidance of Mrs. P-H, Mrs. Fox and the entire staff - one could not hope for a more compassionate and encouraging group of people to guide their children to success! I have been the proud mother of 3 at JGE since it opened and I have had ample feedback, timely resolutions to problems and the academic progress has been outstanding! They (the staff) can motivate like no other! No, it is not a school for those expecting 'average', it is a school that promotes above-average thinking, responsibility and achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

I've been very pleased with this school. It's my daughter's 1st year and she has grown/excelled there. I believe the Edison concept of teaching prepares kids much more thoroughly for future grades and it's my understanding the middle school already needs to increase its standards to challenge the Edison graduates. Edison requires a lot from its students (and parents), but isn't that what all schools should be doing to ensure the success of our children? As with any school, some children will struggle more than others depending on the subject being taught. I have found my daughter's teacher and the aministration at JGE to be nothing but helpful/ responsive to any concern I may have re: my daughter's education. I've never had the communication problems mentioned in other posts. I'm very happy. I just wish there were plans for an Edison middle-school to continue this wonderful experience for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

Wow! After reading some of the other reviews, I'm a bit concerned. My sons have been atending JGE since it opened. Never have I had the problems discussed by two of the previous posters. (BTW- Laptops don't go home until 3rd grade and you must take a class first!) As with ANY school, occassionally there are some miscommunications, but never to the level suggested by the others. I have had the opportunity to serve as chaperone and as an extra-curricular helper multiple times in the building. Being a teacher in a rival district myself, I cannot comprehend the energy level that the teachers and staff of JGE bring to class EVERY DAY. They are amazing. My son with special needs is impoving greatly each year. My 'peer normal' child is one of the tops in his class- in part because the program is designed to challenge him. (Out of space.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

This is the best school around!! My daughter has been in this school for 3 years now and I have been very pleased. GREAT communication by the teachers! They focus on the basics and the extras! Her teachers have gone ABOVE and BEYOND with helping her with her individual struggles. I am very pleased! The teachers, administration, children and parents always seem to be so happy here. If you can get your child in you will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

My child went to this school the first year it was opened. My child was in need for extra help, (Math, Reading) which they denied her, than told me to medicate her instead. I thought the uniform idea was good at first, until it became so strict it was hard to find what the children had to wear. I went to the teacher several times for help. We divised a plan to use a folder to exchange information about school and homework. I sent the folder the next day, but didn't not recieve it back for two months. I continued to try to get help for her, from her teacher. my daughter was tested. The tests showed she was more than half below average. They said until she was in the special education catagory she would not qualify for special help. Basically they pass failing students, and don't care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

This school is horrible when communicating with the parents. For a week my child was counted late. I did not know that the times school started for 3rd grade was different than 2nd, which was what she attended the year before. I gave the school an address change two times in writing over a year ago, they still are sending mail to the wrong place? Infact I did not learn the dates school started last year until four days before, from the local grocery store. They expected a parent to spend half a day away from work to learn how to use their computers. They send home a thousand dollar laptop with a second grader, that you are respondsible for. On top of that they are a public school trying to run like a private school, setting strict rules for young kids. This is the worst school I ever dealt with.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 72%
Hispanic 13% 10%
Asian 5% 2%
Black 5% 12%
Multiracial 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A46%
Special education 14%N/A14%
English learners 10%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Indiana 4 Star School (2009)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Television/Radio News

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:40 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms Elizabeth Fox
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (317) 789-4309

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Spell Bowl
  • Television/Radio News
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School colors
  • orange, blue
School mascot
  • Bulldog
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Southport 6th Grade Academy
Southport Middle School
Southport High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5225 Gray Road
Indianapolis, IN 46237
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 789-4300

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download