GreatSchools Rating

The Oaks Academy

Private | PK-8 | 560 students

The Oaks Academy - Where families are known and loved!
 
 

 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $145,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2013

Our child started at the Oaks in Pre-K and has loved every one of the six years more than the last. We have been truly blessed by the love and commitment of all the faculty and staff to our child's education and maturity. The Formation of Habits is nearly as critical as the Latin, Math, Grammar, and Humanities in our child's development and maturity. The Oaks' commitment to teaching Truth and Beauty in the context of a loving Creator enriches our whole family. We are engaged daily in our child's education, as it should be. The teachers truly walk the talk of the Oaks' educational principals: * All children are persons capable of the duty and delight of learning. * The formation and integration of healthy relationships with persons, ideas, the world and God is the rightful inheritance of all children. * As children engage in the act of thoughtful imitation they form the ability to examine, emulate and extend the beautiful texts set before them. * Children engaged in active learning form habits of mind necessary for lifelong success and maturity. We often wish we could go back to school all over again at The Oaks Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

We are in our third year as a part of this school community. Although I am a sit back and observe kind of person(very shy growing up), the teachers, facilitators as well as other parents go out their way to include us and make us a part of the whole. Particpating with my child, knowing his classmates and teachers so well that we hug even after he has moved on from their classrooms. It can't be beat. The curriculum...is even more fabulous andencompassing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

It breaks my heart that my children are no longer at the Oaks. We moved away from Indiana. The new school my children attend just does not compare to the Oaks on any level. The teachers are wonderful, the class sizes are not to large, the community of families at the Oaks are wonderful. The school truly partners with the parents in the child's education. The school even has classes for parent to help them to know how to help their children. I have not found another school like this. If you live in Indy this is the school to send your child. I wish I could :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

The Oaks provides a strong education, and breaks with the current pressure on schools to prepare kids for tests and/or teach segmented topics. The curriculum is sequential and integrated-- for example, what children learn in literature, history, and the arts is all interrelated. Teachers care deeply for the children, and are vested in truly knowing the families they serve. The school's commitment to equity, faith, and social justice (as other have commented) shines through as well. Our family is very happy with our children's experiences thus far at The Oaks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2010

My son has been at this school for 3yrs and it is great in every way. I truly can say I have no complaints. It is diverse, has great leadership, and provides an excellent education. As a Oaks parent you want to be involved just to keep the connection that you have with your childs education and the staff. Visit the school I Know you will fall in love with it just as i have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2010

I love this school alot!!! I have been there for 4 years!!! I truly can tell that my teachers care about me.The teachers are great and are willing to work with you.If u are thinking about sending your child to this school , you should. Just come in and talk to adminastration. The oaks has sweet,loving and caring staff and faculty. Just know sending your child(ren) would be the best decision you made!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2009

All three of our children have attended The Oaks Academy, and we have been extremely pleased with the results. The Oaks is unique among private Christian schools in Indianapolis because of its classical education curriculum and its commitment to reach across racial and socioeconomic barriers. The focus on training children in good habits and good character also makes it stand out. The school has succeeded in providing a top-flight education to all its students, based on its annual Iowa test scores and ISTEP results. Its graduates are recruited by all the best Indianapolis high schools, including Cathedral, Park Tudor, Brebeuf, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

The Oaks is wonderful with caring teachers . We have been there for 9 years. We have had 4 kids there and I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

The Oaks is a wonderful and unique school I have had 4 children in the school over the last 7 years. The teachers are caring and give individual attention. The curriculum is advanced and the Bible is integrated into the curriculum in an exceptional fashion. The school's inner city location allows children to be exposed to many levels of socioeconomic and racial status. This provides them an excellent preparation to work with all types of people as adults. Art, music and gym are part of the curriculum. Sports is limited because of the size of the school. Parent involvemnent is required.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 45% 74%
Black 1 39% 12%
Multiracial 1 10% 4%
Hispanic 1 4% 7%
American Indian 1 0% 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2 N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 0% N/A
Source: Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 10%N/AN/A
Special education 24%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 160%N/AN/A
Source: 1 Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Andrew Hart
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christ-centered
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (317) 931-3050

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Forensics club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Photography
  • Speech
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Burgundy, Hunter Green
More from this school
  • The Oaks Academy is a Christ-centered school that exists to provide a rich, classical education to children of diverse racial and socioeconomic backgrounds, preparing them to succeed in a rigorous secondary educational program and to demonstrate spiritual, social and emotional maturity.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

February 07, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
180
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
360

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Application fee
Yes. $50.
No fee waivers available

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private
Public
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2301 North Park Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46205
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 931-3043

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download