GreatSchools Rating

Southport 6th Grade Academy

Public | 6 | 525 students

We are best known for preparation for middle school
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2013

My son got a 1 day suspension for dozing off in class. He has never had this problem and instead of the teacher having him get up to revive his body they just suspended him. This is not a reason for suspending a kid from school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

So far this year, my son seems to be having a good year. I think the school has caring, good quality teachers. I do wish the kids had the opportunity to change into gym clothes for phys. ed.--my older children were wearing gym clothes in earlier grades (same school system). I dislike the uniform policy and I doubt that it is more effective than the dress code previously used by the district. My son is somewhat overweight and it has been difficult and more costly to find him good fitting clothes. Despite what people have been led to believe, uniform companies (= the fashion industry), create clothes, incl. "husky" & "slim" to fit the "average" build. I rarely consider making my kids special clothes now, or asking relatives for fun clothes as gifts, since 80% of the time, they can't wear them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

I am a teacher at Southport 6th Grade Academy. I am very happy to be a teacher at such a caring school. I love the dress code, which makes all the students look presentable and ready to do their job...learn from the education we are providing! We have 5 academic teams that spell-out LEARNS: Loyalty, Excellence, Ambition, Respect, Noble and Success. Success is comprised of our special classes: art, PE, music (orchestra, band, choir), Spanish, and special needs classes. Our students join us from 6 elementary schools on the Southport side of the district. Overall, the students do a nice job combining and making new friendships. Our school enables a great tansition from elementary school to Southport Middle School, which is right next door. I can attest that the staff is constantly meeting to look over our students' test scores and focus in on the academic areas where they are weak.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2008

I'm in the advanced classes at Southport 6th grade Academy and to tell you the truth i see know difference between what I learn and what kids in the lower classes learn. their is a good part about this schools academics and that is that they offer Academic Pursuit which basically is The Brain Game. P.S. The only reason i know about Academic Pursuit is because well I'm on the team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

So far my son loves this school. The teachers seem wonderful and caring. They have alot of activities, and I'm all for the dress code. Going to this school made the transition easy. The principal seems stearn and involved. I like that. Mrs. Roxann Pattison
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

I have just left the Southport 6th grade Academy for a new school. It was a huge disapointment to me. Last year our teachers said all of the teachers were going to be great, and we would love it there. I disagree with them. My teachers were horrible. Before 6th grade I loved school, but the 6th grade Academy made me dispise it. I do not suggest sending your kids there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2006

I admire the southport sixth grade academy I go there and its beautiful! The teachers are all really nice! we have to wear khakis and a polo shirt but it makes us all look very nice and mature.the music block is fun you have orchestra , band , choir , and discovery.discovery is not music but it's during the music block.They teach spanish and art you would have them for nine weeks at a time then you have gym which you have for two nine week peirods.You have four teams loyalty, ambition , noble ,and success .It depends what team your on for your schedule. well anyway southport sixth grade academy is a great school and I love it !!!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

485 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

489 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 72%
Hispanic 16% 10%
Asian 7% 2%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Black 5% 12%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A46%
Special education 13%N/A14%
English learners 13%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Chin
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Clubs
  • Television/Radio News

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:35 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Kimberly Campbell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (317) 780-4401

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chin
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Just Say No
  • Recycling club
  • Student Ambassaodors
  • Television/Radio News
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School colors
  • crimson, white
School mascot
  • Bobcat
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
MSDPT Elementary Schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Southport Middle School
Southport High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5715 South Keystone Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46227
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 789-1400

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Southport Middle School
Indianapolis, IN


St. Jude Catholic School
Indianapolis, IN


Calvary Lutheran School
Indianapolis, IN


St. Mark School
Indianapolis, IN



Calvary Christian School
Indianapolis, IN


Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download