Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mooresville High School

Public | 9-12 | 1336 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

This school is terribad i go there it's full of idiots and food is awful and unhealthy


Posted November 12, 2013

Horrible school. Food is awful, most teachers are awful and don't care about the students, there aren't any fun classes that students might actually enjoy being in. The new "PEP" class period is a ridiculous idea. It's just an all over bad school. Except for a few teachers and the janitors. The janitors are awesome and nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2013

Mooresville Schools are terrible! Moved here because it seemed like a peaceful town. The town itself is VERY male centric & looks down upon women, along w/also being a prejudiced area. The schools are below average starting in elementary & continuing through high school. Children here, especially females, are completely unprepared for college and/or any type of experience outside of Mooresville. The teachers refuse to answer student's questions & also don't respond to parents. The only way I have found to communicate with the school is through the guidance counselor, who is actually decent. There is a lot of bullying & if you try to bring it to the school's attention, you become even more of a target. The schools are overcrowded & should be sued for title IX,yet no one cares because they only care about males & football, which is a joke because they are a terrible team. Not enough space to fully show how terrible it is suffice it to say that many people have moved or drive their children to better schools, like Plainfield, if able. Do not be fooled by the "small town" look and feel-Mooresville is far from friendly, especially if you are a woman and/or have daughters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Mooresville HS doesnt pretend to be Brebeuf or Carmel. Its a great community and my son did very well at this school. Like any school there are issues (drugs, bullying, apathetic teachers) but really it seems like some folks that post reviews here are expert exaggeraters. Try sending your kid to MY old High School (Northwest HS). Then you'll see REAL problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

Food could be better but you also got to remember that in such a small school, not much will be offered. If you want somthing healthy, bring your lunch or get a pb&j. I love this school. Yea I WISH it had better ac/heating systems. but really its not the school its the kids being crybabies. when im cold i put on a jacket. The cliques are pretty bad but usually after a while people notice that everybody knows everybody else. Drugs... EVERY SCHOOL HAS THEM! Pregnancy, bad parenting above all else. Dropping grades, bad parenting/ kid getting lazy. If you think that a teacher wont help you, try asking them and if they are smug or snarky, REPORT THEM to the board of edu. Needs to get more efficient ways of lighting and if you take out the pool, how are the kids suppost to exercise? Gym, ha! Nobody actually exercises there. The football team IS taking $ away from the art department Its cleaner than most schools and the town is welcoming when your friendly and not being a snoot. There are some teachers that if your not a jock you dont get help but there are also teachers that if you ARE a jock you get the most "positive reinforcement" bullying all emotional and will never be truly stopped
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2010

Mooresville is an ok school. Nort all the teachers are bad. Everythime I have asked for help it has been there for me.Some parents think teachers treat them differently, but does your student even ask for help? Majority no. The lunches need improvement. The school needs to be bigger. Get rid of the pool and make more classrooms.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2010

I found it to be horrible! The teachers didnt seem to care abuot the children! My child was on the Honor roll before we moved here and then the grades slid down and noone would return my calls or seemed to even care. Moved again and grades are already improving as well as the attitude of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

It was an okay school but it wasn't much about the improvement. Most of the teachers were nice but others were inconsiderent of students feelings.


Posted September 26, 2008

I am currently a student here at MHS and I think it's a great school system I am in the football program (which is excellent) everyone gets involved, and everyone comes to support us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2008

Our school is not as good as all the high schools around us in the area. Ours has a poor choice for lunch its always something greasy and fried. They shouldnt spend all the money on new football equipment. They could spend that money on bettering our education. Some of the teachers will help you others honestly dont care. Some parts of the school need to be updated badly. Others arent as bad. better learning tool
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2008

Im a studebt currently at mooresville high school. I dont think our school is as good as it could be. It uses all of its money for football things rather then what we need. We need a better choice of food for our school not new helmets or pads ok.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2007

This school is a good shool. It has a good lunch. I am a b average student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2007

MHS is great school I am a student here and I have never had any problems or any regrets coming here. The teachers are great and try to help at the best of their ability. Football is a big factor of MHS everyone gets into the spirit and its a lot of fun. The only thing I could think of that could be improved is the lunches, they are to short.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2007

As a student of MHS i would say that I will be glad when i graduate and get out of here. The teachers here have very poor skills in teaching and much rather put in a movie then actually do their job. I am currently a freshman and in my 8th grade year i didnt learn any new math skills, we spent the whole year reviewing over math that i already knew. Now, as a freshman, i find myself behind in math and not knowing many of the questions on ISTEP. Another thing is that the lunch is horrible, i mean its not supposed to be a gourmet meal but it is overpriced and even outdated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2007

Mrs. Gilly & Mrs. Phillips, Mr. Johnson, Ms. Crawford, and Mrs. Breidinger are excellent teachers, knowledgable in their fields.


Posted September 23, 2007

I have found Mooresville schools, a system that provides for every student, if the parent/student came forward as a team and requested help, I guarantee they would have gotten it. I have raised my child to ask for help if needed, if its not available, I have found the guidance staff able to offer alt suggestions. Teachers have taken lunch hours to help..... they aren't mind readers. You need to ask.. a student not prepared for college just may not get it anyway. Mooresville is not a 3rd world country, the town is quaint. I feel our kids are safer here than any other school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2007

Mooresville high school rocks!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2007

Mooresville High School could be alot better if it was not for politics. They are to fouced on pleasing everyone not on teaching the children. I rate this schhol system a 4.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

MHS is not a school that I will send my children to. As a former student I feel cheated of an education and also extracurricular development. I attend Purdue University and have found that most students that I come across have had a vast amount care given to them that I never received. Some problems are as follows: rundown building, lack of respect from faculty and staff, lack of 100 % effort from teachers, terrible food, financial managing problems, very little parking, inappropriate rules, inadequate security, very little room for unconventionality. The town lacks culture and sophistication on any level. I have heard that they might build a new school, so that is a plus.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 25, 2007

As a student at MHS, I can honestly say that the school does need work, but overall is 'ok.' There is a major clique problem, nothing is done about verbal and emotional abuse, and there are some problems with drug dealing. There are some very mean cliques in our school that try to make other people feel bad and humiliate them. When someone addresses verbal and emotional abuse, the teachers just say to stop and when it continues they usually ignore it. But I can say those problems aren't major and you will have them at every school. So all in all Mooresville is an average school with nothing special. But I must admit that the show choir and athletic departments are very nice and well managed.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
59%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
27%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

68%

Average SAT score

968

Graduation rate

91.1%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
61%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
42%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.5
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
19
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
78%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 72%
Hispanic 2% 10%
Asian 1% 2%
Black 1% 12%
Multiracial 1% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A46%
Special education 9%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

550 North Indiana Street
Mooresville, IN 46158
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 831-9203

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Plainfield High School
Plainfield, IN




Damar Charter Academy
Indianapolis, IN



Decatur Discovery Academy
Indianapolis, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT