Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Silver Creek Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 667 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

My children love this school. Everything about it is wonderful. We just came back from the "orange and blue" blowout. An event where the faculty plays the students. There was so much going on and we had a blast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

siler creek middle school and it is amazing an it has good food and good teachers


Posted December 5, 2009

Do your kid a favour. Don't send them here. Ever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2006

We found that all of the teacheres our son has this year have been very engaging and encouraging. The courses of study are interesting and well taught. We have been very pleased with the school. His math teacher works very hard to make his room a comfotable, warm learning environment and the Tech Ed teacher is very excited about the program and teaching it. His music teacher is a very encouraging and wise man with great advise. It has been a very positive experience for all of us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

Would really like to see a Football program added. We are the only school in area without football team. Hope the Tennis Program is not reason why we are not pushing for football team!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

I wish the school would stick with the dress code. I found they are harsh about wearing sandals. I passed a child wearing a spiked dog collar with red spay painted hair during a visit. I would considered that a distraction. It's a good school for a public school, however it's getting some ruff children. I noticed the police at every dance and also during the school year taking a child out in cuffs. I suppose that's out of their controlled, but it did make check into private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2003

I attended this school, my mother and my children attended as well. I feel that all members of my family received a great education here. We also have a vast number of great memories that we cherish. As we move into the future in a new building, I know that the standards will remain high as always. My husband and I have served as substitute teachers here also, and agree that SCJH is the best school in the system!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 72%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Multiracial 3% 4%
Asian 1% 2%
Black 1% 12%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A46%
Special education 12%N/A14%
English learners 1%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

495 North Indiana Avenue
Sellersburg, IN 47172
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 246-4421

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Community Montessori
New Albany, IN



River Valley Middle School
Jeffersonville, IN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT