Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Summit Schools

Private | PK-5 | 130 students

We provide personalized education for children ages Preschool to 5th grade.
 
 

 
 

Living in Cedar Rapids

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $128,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

My daughter wanted to attend everyday school since she love to learn from her teacher and friends., otherwise she cry..!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

My children have attended this school for the last 4 and 3 years respectfully. The staff and teachers are friendly, respectfully, knowledgeable, and I feel this school is the best choice if you are looking for a strong foundation for your children. My children attend the summer program in addition to the regular school with amazing results and love their classmates. The SOS code is something the children live by. I am cooperative, I am kind, I am respectful, I am responsible, I am safe, I am smart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

If the option existed, my kids would come here every day of the week. One of the best things about Summit is that the teachers have really helped my child understand that she owns her education; she has autonomy to set goals and design and define some her projects, and because of this she's very invested in her own educational path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

We experienced children bullying our child and the school excuses for these students. Our child did not want to go to class. Poor leadership
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

Summit is a school where children can flourish. It's a great fit for advanced students, slower students and students with different learning styles. My oldest has been there five years now and is thriving. The head of schools, Miss Erikka and the staff are amazing. Your child is valued here. Small class sizes and teachers who are willing to do whatever they can to help children succeed. Come join us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

Our daughter has absolutely flourished at Summit. Unlike public school, where she was for K, Summit's personalized curriculum has allowed her to thrive while learning at an appropriate (and accelerated) pace. Class sized is capped at 16, so the teacher's are able to thoroughly know each and every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

Our son is about to start 1st grade at Summit after preschool, Pre-K, and Kindergarten there. He is reading at a 5th grade level, calls math "easy," and has a passion for learning that we just don't see in our oldest son- who didn't attend Summit. We wish we would have chosen Summit for him too. Our youngest is about to start Pre-K at Summit and we know she'll achieve far beyond our expectations. Small class sizes (and even lower student-to-teacher ratios), foreign language instruction, Orton-Gillingham phonics, Y.A.L.E. and a positive, nurturing, environment make Summit the best investment our family has ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

This school is a great educational value. My second grade son reads and COMPREHENDS at a middle school grade level thanks to the teachers at Summit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

This school has been outstanding for our son. He was in preschool this year, and is moving into pre kindergarten. The class size is small, 16 kids with a teacher and an assistant. They do a lot of one on one. And keep the parents briefed on what is going on in the class. There is a lot of parent participation, which makes the whole school year go even better. I could not ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

Sending our children to Summit has been the best decision we have made for our children's education! We have one child with some special needs and another very traditional learner. It has impressed us to see how they are able to determine each child's ability levels and move them forward from there at thier own rates. Our childrens' growth is so much greater here than we were seeing at their previous schools. Summit is well worth the investment! The new leadership is outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

Leadership was horrible I agree, but thankfully, we can now say that with capital was. . . New head of school, Erikka Benhart, is superior! She values the children and teachers in a way that is wonderful. Staff is united to make this the best place for learning!


Posted February 18, 2009

Summit is the best educational opportunity Cedar Rapids has to offer! The new leadership under Erikka Benhart has been farsighted and inspirational. As a parent of two students, I have been thoroughly impressed with the school, and specifically with the three teachers who have taught my children. Summit has skilled and dedicated teachers, small classroom sizes, and a commitment to individual student excellence which is missing in the public schools. You only get once chance to educate your children, and at Summit, you get what you pay for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

Teachers are very dedicated to the goals of student achievement. Courses are almost custom made per each students levels and abilities. Must have come into the system after the 'leadership/power' struggle, because there is currently little evidence of this. Principle and teachers are very responsive when you call to ask for information, or have concerns about your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

Outstanding School! We have been there for 4 years and absolutely love it - the teachers are so very dedicated, the personalized curriculum is phenomenal as well as the monthly fieldtrips and YALE Adventures (Yet Another Learning Experience). The personalized curriculum allows a gifted child to be continually challenged and remain with his/her age appropriate peers. 77% of the 3rd - 5th graders qualified for the University of Iowa's Gifted & Talented Program (95+ percentile on ITBS in the 05-06 school year. The personalized curriculum also helps those children who are in need of extra help as well. It is a school for everyone! Summit clearly creates a solid foundation for life in each and every child. Summit Schools is under new leadership and headed to an even bigger and brighter future. Check out the new playground too - it is fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

Poor leadership! Wonderful dedicated teachers. Check the rapid decline in enrollment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2006

Way to much money for such horrible leadership. No real grasp of priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Erikka Vosmek
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Orton-Gillingham
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Running Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend Fundraising Functions
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$0 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1010 Regent St NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Website: Click here
Phone: (319) 294-2036

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kenwood Elementary School
Cedar Rapids, IA


Wright Elementary School
Cedar Rapids, IA


Pierce Elementary School
Cedar Rapids, IA


Arthur Elementary School
Cedar Rapids, IA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT