Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Iowa City, IA
Students enrolled: 919
 

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

11 reviews of this school


Regina Catholic Education Center 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
When we moved to Iowa City we chose Regina because it was the only Catholic school in the area. Not knowing a lot about it, we have been overwhelmed by how welcoming the Regina community was to our family. We feel like we've been here forever & it's now home. The daily religion classes & weekly Masses are a wonderful compliment to academically challenging courses. If you are looking for a faith filled community, Christ is in the hallways at Regina!

Regina Catholic Education Center 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
A caring community where each individual student is important. The teachers and staff go above and beyond what is expected of them.


Regina Catholic Education Center 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
Cannot say more about Regina! Having a whole center atmosphere is great. Being able to have your kids connect with the school from such a young age is nice, because they build that loyalty right from the beginning. The way that the administration works together with their parents to create a cohesive learning environment is wonderful, but also the staff they hire is top notch! They truly work to do everything they can to help their students succeed. They do not turn a blind eye to bullying and work hard to resolve issues that are happening in a timely and efficient manner. They know the importance of creating a safe and loving environment for student success. Students in the elementary work on Character Counts lessons which help to reinforce leadership and character development that make for effective students, children, and future adults. These lessons are things that then are carried over as students go into the upper grades when students meet with their homeroom and via teachers. When going out into the community is isn't hard to spot a Regina student and alumni because of their dedication to service, strong work ethic, caring demeanor, and living a life of faith.

Regina Catholic Education Center 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
Our three children had the wonderful opportunity to attend from kindergarten and graduate from Regina. They are now grown and moved away from the Iowa City community. It makes me proud that we made the right decision to send our children to a school that intertwines faith, family and friends. All three of them continue to stay in contact with their kindergarten friends and with friends that joined the Regina system throughout their years. Regina may be one of the best kept secrets in Iowa City. It is an outstanding place to grow academically, to celebrate your faith on a daily basis, and to make lifelong friends. Once a Regal, Always a Regal.

Regina Catholic Education Center 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
I had four children graduate from Regina over a 15 year period. Even though my husband is a graduate of an Iowa City public school, we made a joint decision Regina was the place for our children. We found it to be a place that educates the WHOLE child...mind, body and soul. They were prepared well for the college of their choice, they learned about the hard work and care it takes to be part of a team in extracurricular activities and, most importantly, Regina, along with parents and church, provides young people with a sound foundation and moral compass that will guide them for the rest of their lives. And, they made life-long friends along the way. What more can parents ask ?


Regina Catholic Education Center 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
It is clear that Regina is a Catholic school by how everyone in the community cares about each other. Regina has a very supportive group of teachers and staff. It is clear that they enjoy working with children. The academic offerings are incredible for a small school. You get a small school environment with a big school feel in terms of what they offer to their students in grades K-12.

Regina Catholic Education Center 1

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
My child transferred into Regina High School and was horribly bullied. Transferred out after one year. Very little help with bullying situations. Not much acceptance at this school unless you've been there since grade school. Many students transfer in and out of this school due to being picked on. Definitely not behavior that Jesus would approve of! Bullying happens everywhere but not as frequently as at Regina.

Regina Catholic Education Center
no rating

Posted July 01, 2009
- a parent
Three of my children graduated from Regina and two more are currently attending. We have been so pleased with the school's focus on academics, the integration of religious instruction even outside the religion classes, and the personal involvement by the wonderful teachers, coaches, and staff. The small school size offers involvement in sports and the arts for all students, regardless of ability. The K-12 campus allows mentoring opportunities for high school students with elementary students, and parents are encouraged to volunteer not only with extracurricular activities, but also in the classrooms. Over the years, we have felt Regina to be a second family.


Regina Catholic Education Center
no rating

Posted November 26, 2008
- a parent
Thankful for Regina! My daughter started pre-school at Regina and graduated from Regina High School in 2008. She is now having a very successful freshman year at the University of Iowa. The Regina teachers (from pre-school on) did an outstanding job preparing my daughter for her future. She has solid academic skills, great study skills and confidence in her ability to learn. Hats off to all those hard-working teachers who provided my daughter with a solid education.

Regina Catholic Education Center 5

Posted April 17, 2008
- a parent
You get the small town atmosphere with an excellent academic setting at RHS. The Catholic education you receive here isn't just in the religion classes. You can see it filter through to other aspects of the education here. For a school of its size, they have a lot of extra curricular sports, clubs and activities. Their campus is amazing and each year they have a Fall Fun Festival that brings the entire Regina Community together. Go Regals!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Regina Catholic Education Center
2150 Rochester Avenue, Iowa City, IA  52245
(319) 338-5436
Last modified Regina Catholic Education Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Regina Catholic Education Center Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top