Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Solon High School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
For a smaller school Solon HS has a lot going for it. Academics has gotten better over the years and there is a high percentage of experienced, quality teachers. Solon HS features several outstanding programs and participation is encouraged. This includes sports, fine arts, and other clubs. Being near several colleges and a big 10 university is a plus. Job opportunities, internships and other good programs are available nearby. Solon has many small town aspects and some people moving there for the athletic opportunities, but there are plenty of things to recommend.

Solon High School 2

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
I moved to Solon for the wireless high school, believing that administrators, teachers and students would be competitive nationally in global media. After volunteering for 2 years 3-4 times per week, I placed my child in a local school that took its orchestra to the Julliard in NYC and which had its choral group accepted for a Carnegie Hall performance. That school focused on our children competing nationally and internationally. Students competed from local through state levels with goals of national recognition, which my child achieved. First job out of college was with a nationally known entity that recognized quality. Second job is the dream-come-true job at $102,000 doing what was desired since 7th grade. None of this would have happened through academia in Solon. Sports and coaches run the administrators. An "ELP" program does nothing. No partnering with engineers for national STEM work, no mentoring from world famous Writer's Workshop folks, no art although artists abound in this area, no eyes on ivy league schools. Teach to the tests! No field trips to museums, theater, dance, Hoover Museum, History Center, NYC. Go to community colleges, stay near home, get jobs, repeat


Solon High School 4

Posted August 08, 2013
- a community member
I have got to say, I graduated from SHS a year ago and I don't believe that the academics are lacking in the least. There are other schools that are way worse off than Solon is and really Solon isn't bad at all. It is true that they could stand to update the books in the classroom, but the students are given the option to take AP classes as well as college level classes in their junior and senior years. Yes, it is true that a big focus is the sports but the music department actually has participation from about 1/3 of the school, and the arts program overall is growing every year. I think Solon was actually a fantastic place to be.

Solon High School 4

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
Solon High School itself is great- the AP kids can take class at the community college, there is an incredible Fine Arts department, and they have some truly outstanding teachers. The problem with Solon is the town. The PARENTS are sports obsessed, and they have crowned the athletic director emperor of the school. Nothing happens in this school if it interferes with his agenda. We built a multi-million dollar football stadium for a town of about 2000 people! And the middle school still puts buckets out in the hallway every time it rains...This place has seriously messed up priorities.

Solon High School 5

Posted March 14, 2012
- a parent
This school is somewhat athletically focused as others mention, but going to college on an athletic scholarship, I appreciate that it can be just as important as the academic element at times. There is a great sense of community here. The town is generally financially well off so the kids often wear nicer clothes and drive nicer cars than some high schools. My daughter had plenty of AP options with Kirkwood and the U of I nearby and entered college a full semester ahead with AP credits. I am really scared of a new grading system that I hear rumors about that does not have A through F grading. Some things just work and A through F grading does, it prepares for college, any other style won't be an advantage to college-bound students.


Solon High School 5

Posted February 02, 2010
- a parent
The location of this school and size are perfect. The administration, teachers and students strive to be the best. The students have a wide variety of classes and extracurriculars to choose from. All extracurriculars are valued and excel. A great school!

Solon High School 1

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Solon High School 2

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
Solon High School does not give 'A' students an opportunity to excel. There are not enough AP classes or electives. The school is centered around sports and not scholastic achievement.


Solon High School 1

Posted December 22, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Solon High School 4

Posted March 06, 2006
- a teacher
It is interesting to read the aforementioned comments regarding academic success at Solon High School. Solon consistently outscores (ITED composites) competing schools in the area and offers its students many opportunities for higher learning. With the option of Advanced Placement courses at the high school, as well as classes to be taken at the University of Iowa and Kirkwood(CC), students are able to adequately foster their intellectual needs. Those who choose not to identify with these programs are also able to foster their education through Solon's outstanding teaching staff. It is apparent that the opportunities for success are well defined. Solon also offers an excellent environment with its extra-curricular activities. Not only are the sporting programs top-notch, the fine-arts programs also compete/function at an amazing level as compared to similar districts. It is easy to say that these programs 'show/prove themselves.' SHS is quality at the highest level!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Solon High School
600 West 5th St, Solon, IA  52333
(319) 624-3401
Last modified Solon High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Solon High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top