Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Goddard High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 29, 2008

This school is of course really good for college bound schools. They have good college classes are they easy to take and have amazing teachers there to help and understand. The leadership of the school is outstanding, everyone there in sports, band, orchestra etc. takes charge always knowing what to do. Safety is an important issue to every parent, as safety goes, there are cameras placed in different parts of the building that watched daily to what goes on in the hall ways and parking lot. There are even security cops who walk around school and make sure everything is going well and fine.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2008

Goddard High school is the one and only high school to get everything that you want. They have great sport teams, also great clubs and Organizations. I am actually and ambassador there we help new students out and welcoming all new freshmen and also its great to make new friends I am glad I got the chance to be at a top rated school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2008

Great school, especially for college bound students. Its a great 'big/little school'-good size but doesn't feel like it. Most teachers are wonderful and the general attitudes from both teachers and students is much more positive. When I have kids someday I want to send them to a school like Goddard.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2007

I atttended Goddard High from 2001-2005 and enjoyed it very much. I started as a new student and had no problem making friends, yet I was not in the preppy or cool crowd. I was extremely inpressed with all of the programs offered, from football to band to theatre. I was involved in band and orchestra, and I was not outcast by the rest of the students for it. They have a lot to offer and represent the outside world pretty well. I would recommend this district to anyone.


Posted October 19, 2007

Although Goddard High is a good school as far as education is concerned, I think they need to work on their attitudes here. If you want [your kids] to be accepting of differences and live in the real world, I would choose another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

Goddard High school is a good school with good teachers and parents. But I feel that its principal leadership needs to work more with its students understand what the student want and need. P.S. A ROTC proghram would go good with this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2007

Great school and great sports.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 22, 2004

Although I still feel that running up and down steps in gym class is dangerous ----and I believe that I have been mis-led on occasions by office personel --- I Rate Goddard High School highly .
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

313 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

173 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

385 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

332 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

351 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
African Americann/a
Hispanic87%
Multi-ethnic100%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities77%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanic77%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities89%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanic79%
Multi-ethnic88%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities64%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students88%
African American91%
Hispanic83%
Multi-ethnic77%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities76%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 67%
Hispanic 10% 17%
Black 4% 7%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 South 199 St West
Goddard, KS 67052
Phone: (316) 794-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Goddard Academy
Goddard, KS


Garden Plain High School
Garden Plain, KS



Levy Sp Ed Center
Wichita, KS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT