Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coronado Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2012

i love it there it so many excellent teachers they also didn't and most definitely did not allow students to sag there pants and i think its a good thing that did not allow that


Posted September 26, 2011

As a teacher at Coronado Middle School, I am very disappointed this website is rating our school as a "1" based only on test data that is over 3 years old. I consider that an irrelevant rating. Our school has made huge gains the last few years and this site is very outdated. Coronado is a good school, that is continuing to improve each year. The teachers and the administration work very hard and take education seriously.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 27, 2011

My child has attened this school for 6th and 7th grade. The issues i have with this school is that there is alot of favoritism that is diplayed. The teachers are rude not only to the childern but to the parents. And the type of kids that go there are just mean kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

This is a great school. My daughter attends her first year here(6th) and she loves it. They work with the kids. whether your child is advanced or needs help they are great. many activities for the kids and participation from the children are a must! helps keep them involved more. they are even have scholarships towards college with the great grades and attendance. nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Our principal Mr. ragsdale and the teachers work/worked hard to get our students to a level where they can be reconized. Pride is a code here and we take it very seriously. Thanks for makin A.Y.P
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2009

I think this school isn't that bad because the teachers are funny and some of the teachers are very helpfull. There's probably two or one thing I don't like about the school but I kind of see why. Here's the 1st question...Why can't we bring cell a phones? Other schools bring them. Second question...When I really am having trouble with one of my encore class why can't I change it? But anyway Coronado is not the best middle school ever but it might be if it jux kind of change. When I do my benchmarks it kind of feel easy because I work hard and study hard. Teachers that are 6th grade teachers I think they are nicer and they are very helpful when we need them. I am a 6th grade colt and will always be one untill I get to high school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2007

I'm in Seventh grade and yes i do go to Coronado I've only been there for 2 years and I highly agree with our progress in Coronado. Our principal Dr.Judith Duff and Vice Principal Mr. Michael Tillman have definetly changed Coronado for the better, discipline is definetly of the top most importance at Coronado. No child is allowed any kind of slack and all most obey by the rules or will suffer consequences. Grades are above standard and class sizes are small but for a good reason all of us students get one on one time with teachers so that we can understand and comprehend our work much better. If you are ever looking for a new school for your child Coronado is a great one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2007

well I'm not going to lie to you, I'm not a parent. in fact I'm only 12.i attend Coronado and I just thought it would be nice if u could hear about coronado from a students point of view. I have friends from every school in the district and hearing about their schools makes me even prouder to be a colt. our students are focused, our teachers truly care, and our principal is definitely turning this school around. right now I'm in the middle of a report on the past, present , and future of coronado.thats how I found this website. the past might not have been so bright but I'm sure that coronado has a very bright future ahead. here @ coronado we have pride in ourselves and the test scores and behavior to justify that pride.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2006

I have two students at Coronado Middle School and have been very impressed on how they stay on top of every aspect. This includes; attendance, grades, test scores, security down to separate halls for the different grades. The principal, Judi Duff, of Coronado Middle School has really turned the school around. The teachers really care about the students and are helpful to any child who is interested. They provide free reading and math tutors to improve test scores. The school has a small student teacher ratio, which allows the teachers to work more with the children in the classroom. This also allows the administration to know all their students by name. This school enforces the rules. Children who will not follow the rules are expelled. All schools should have a dress code. Having a dress code helps to focus on LEARNING. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

144 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

144 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
69%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

144 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
1%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

125 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

125 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
60%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 78% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
2%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2009.

113 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
African American55%
Hispanic80%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities61%
Proficient in English80%

Reading

All Students61%
African American53%
Hispanic70%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities55%
Proficient in English65%

U.S. History and Government

All Students1%
African American0%
Hispanic3%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White7%
Economically disadvantaged2%
Students with disabilities7%
Proficient in English0%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African American61%
Hispanic58%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities46%
Proficient in English47%

Reading

All Students71%
African American74%
Hispanic67%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities66%
Proficient in English57%

Science

All Students5%
African American4%
Hispanic6%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White7%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Students with disabilities20%
Proficient in English0%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
African American25%
Hispanic37%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander55%
White9%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities13%
Proficient in English38%

Reading

All Students18%
African American12%
Hispanic20%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander64%
White9%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities9%
Proficient in English28%

U.S. History and Government

All Students2%
African American0%
Hispanic3%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander9%
White0%
Economically disadvantaged2%
Students with disabilities8%
Proficient in English5%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 7%
Hispanic 26% 17%
White 12% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1735 North 64th Terr
Kansas City, KS 66102
Phone: (913) 627-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Muncie Christian School
Kansas City, KS


Arrowhead Middle School
Kansas City, KS


West Middle School
Kansas City, KS


V Lindsay Sda School
Kansas City, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT