Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Leavenworth, KS
Students enrolled: 1,252

3 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leavenworth Sr High School 4

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
The last two reviews (Nov 2013, April 2014) were obviously either by parents who have never stepped into Leavenworth High School or are from neighboring high schools playing a prank. Work ethic is rewarded whether in academic or athletic endeavors - sounds like a couple of folks with an axe to grind. Highlights of 2013-14 - school made AYP Standard of Excellence for the last testing year under NCLB - Reading & Math, students once again heading to prestigious colleges across the US, state qualifiers for football, Girls basketball State 5A champions, JROTC battalion at over 350 students engaged in learning leadership - the list could go on. Are there problems in the school? Of course, this is not a rich community - over 40% of school population is on reduced price meals, but the high school is full of dedicated, caring teachers, counselors, and administrators who work very hard to help kids succeed. Parents like the ones who wrote in below never participate, never volunteer, and always blame the school for any perceived slight. Heaven forbid that they actual parent and show up once in a while. Your high school students will get a great education in a diverse school - Go Pioneers!

Leavenworth Sr High School 1

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
The staff of this school do not take care of their students. The programs are underfunded, undermanaged, and just plain awful. There are constant drug searches and fights. It is not a learning environment, it is a jail.


Leavenworth Sr High School 1

Posted November 23, 2013
- a parent
This schools education system is standard but their integrity with sports it's ridiculous and sad. They show favoritism. It's not about how good your child maybe, it's who you know! Sad, taking my kids out of this hypercritical school a nd town. The teachers are lack luster and uncaring. They are burnt out and view children as burdens. It's sad what the education system has come to , !!! Angry Patent

Leavenworth Sr High School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a community member
This school has came a long ways.And has some of the best teachers.The students there should be recognized.They have some of the brightest kids.And not enough tutoring provided for these children,and their families.Wining this money will help these students provide the funding to help them learn.And make their futures brighter.

Leavenworth Sr High School 5

Posted November 18, 2011
- a parent
Best high school in the county. It has rigorous classes for students who want to be challenged. This HS has the most AP classes, highest quality of teachers, most caring and engaged counselors, wonderfully involved parents, and motivated students. Results of this can be seen in the number of students accepted into the best institutions for higher learning in this country. For example, this year s class of seniors has four students who have already been accepted into West Point. How many other schools in the STATE can meet that kind of quality? If you re moving here and trying to decide which high school to place your student in, select the best Leavenworth High School.


Leavenworth Sr High School 4

Posted August 20, 2011
- a community member
I attended LHS and graduated with the class of 2008. I actually was able to graduate early in December which allowed me the opportunity to jump start my college education. You have to be a student who is willing to apply themselves. I took a few A.P. english classes and felt they were focused and prepared me well for my college experience. There are always problems in a school and some incidents are exposed and make the school appear worse than it is. I will say, when I went, Mr. Parker was making some major and positive changes.

Leavenworth Sr High School 4

Posted July 18, 2010
- a student
I am a LHS graduate and I had a wonderful experience. There are so many clubs and activities to participate in, including many that are award winning and nationally ranked.From experience I know LHS is also very accommodating to new students and counselors seek to help students succeed.There are many class choices and everyone can find a place to fit in. LHS has a reputation as being an old, outdated and dangerous school, but I feel this is unjustified. I always felt safe and the new renovations are almost complete. If you want to succeed at LHS, you most certainly can but like any school, you have to put in the effort. LHS has all the tools necessary for success and many students leave LHS to attend great colleges such as West Point, MIT, Johns Hopkins University, KU and K-state. My only complaint: some AP classes are not really AP level.

Leavenworth Sr High School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school with teachers who care. School facilities being upgraded. Principal is a strong leader.


Leavenworth Sr High School 1

Posted December 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Leavenworth Sr High School 2

Posted December 05, 2009
- a student
LHS is a bad school. They need to work on the way they group the classes. The gifted students are often placed in bleow average classes with the kids who are unwilling to try unwilling to learn and unwilling to listen. It does nothing other then hamper the learning process for both levels of students. If LHS would seperate the students it wold allow differnet styles of learning to be applied,but they don't have the money. And the school is filled with thugs and rug users

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leavenworth Sr High School
2012 10th Ave, Leavenworth, KS  66048
(913) 684-1550
Last modified Leavenworth Sr High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Leavenworth Sr High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top