Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Smoky Valley Middle School 2

Posted July 24, 2012
- a community member
The principal at this school is a joke. He's never there, but when he is, he is mean kids who come from families that won't fight back. He doesn't care if kids fail ALL their courses for 4 years, he just passes them along without tutoring or summer school, just to get them out. He's just lazy! He's also mean to the female staff and only tells certain teachers what is going on. The rest of the school has no idea. Every email to staff includes a second one for a correction. And, he gets paid an exorbitant amount! They seem to have a very high recidivism rate at this school and one has to ask 'why?.' There are also some teachers who are very lazy and just 'teach' by computers. What they teach is what will be on the standardized tests. There is no passion in it! I'm very disappointed. Also, they had a GREAT librarian there and the kids loved her - could go to her for anything and she would be there for them. She was also an actual librarian with a degree. She quit (much to the chagrin of students and parents) and now they have an old tech teacher with no library training in there yelling constantly at the kids! The kids don't like to go in there anymore.

Smoky Valley Middle School 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a community member
This school has a technology program you simply will not find anywhere else in a small town environment perhaps in the entire nation. Every student has a laptop and uses technology in a way which is efficient, effective and prepares them for the future.


Smoky Valley Middle School 1

Posted December 30, 2010
- a community member
Not a very good school. The only way you will do good is if you are popular or play sports. My sister went there 4 years, i went there 4 years, and my brother is in his first year there. Some of the 7th and 8th grade teachers are not very nice.

Smoky Valley Middle School 5

Posted October 23, 2009
- a parent
Very fine teachers, staff, facilities, & activities. I am especially pleased with the music education my daughter has received.

Smoky Valley Middle School 4

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Smoky Valley Middle School 5

Posted April 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Smoky Valley Middle School 5

Posted January 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Smoky Valley Middle School 5

Posted October 05, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Smoky Valley Middle School 5

Posted February 21, 2006
- a student
I got to this school and I think that this school is one of the best schools in Kansas. We have one of the highest ratings, and our goals to achieve state awards has been ranked high on the level of improvement. The middle school has won several awards. This is the bewst school you could possibly go to in Kansas, and the midwest.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Smoky Valley Middle School
401 North Cedar, Lindsborg, KS  67456
(785) 227-4249
Last modified Smoky Valley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Smoky Valley Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top