Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty View Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

I wish I could echo the 5-star reviews here, but I cannot. My son has been at this school for 3 years and this year is probably the most disappointing. In those 3 years, I have found his teachers to be inexperienced (fresh out of college) and communication to be lacking. When my son showed serious markers for having a particular learning disability, it wasn't until AFTER making some very serious inquiries, phone calls, research, etc. that the school did ANYTHING to help my son. For a school being held in such high-esteem (and in the caliber of the Blue Valley School District), I have found my experience at LVE to become increasingly disappointing and frustrating. I do think the Principal is wonderful and very devoted to the kids, as well as some of the other staff members. Overall though, this school is not deserving in any way of a 5-star review.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

What a FANTASTIC school! My son has flourished in this school. The principal, office staff, teachers and involved parents ALL care about the kids that attend this school! Mrs. Nihols is the best teacher my son has EVER had in his 4 years at school so far and I can only commend and recommend her to everyone! Mrs. Lonergan is the best principal that my son has had, also! This school always exceeds my expectations with communication, community involvement, making the kids feel special, the list goes on and on! You won't be sorry if you place your kids at LVE! My son has high-functioning autism and the counselor, school psychiatrist, principal, nurse, office staff and, of course, his teacher, were all on board with suggestions and tips as to how to make his year here successful. My son feels very special to his teacher; he's been able to be more social and make some best friends (YAY!), and everyone treats him like they are blessed to know him. As a parent, it brings tears to my eyes that we are moving and can't continue my son's academic growth at this school. I hope you consider LVE for your child's academic, social, mental & emotional growth as they have been terrific for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

We just did not have the same experience. I thought my child's teacher was too inexperienced. I felt she took the class to a level that was perceived too easy by my child, who wasn't challenged enough by the course content. We have been enrolled in a number of different schools in our moves for jobs, and had heard about blue valley schools but this one disappointed us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

The attention the teachers give to the students is outstanding. The curriculum is challenging and well supported. I have had three children in this school and am very glad I made the choice to live near this school and in this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

We have been blessed to have had all four of our children attend LVE. The teachers, administration, and support staff are incredible. Our only complaint, is the few overbearing mothers who, volunteer at the school on a daily basis, with the intentions of bullying and controlling the staff and other volunteers. LVE is an amazing school offering our children a valuable education, it should not be the stomoing grounds of gossiping mothers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

As an educator myself, I thought I would be nit-picky about any school my kindergartner attended. The teacher and curriculum has surpassed my expectations. We made an excellent choice when we moved into Liberty View's area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

This is our 5th school in 5 years (due to moves) and let me tell you---this is heaven!! LVE exceeds all of our expectations for a fantastic school. I am trying to get everyone I know to move to this school area!! We are impressed with every area! The perfect combination of academics/arts and fun! My kids love their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

If there is anything negative to be said about this school, it is that there is a drive to excel only rivaled by Wallstreet. On track students are often placed in 'additional help' groups, just because the funding and support are there to do so. Delicate feelings should be left behind, and the benefits embraced. If you are fortunate enough to have your children go to this school, your only concern should be in seeing that they are allowed to be a kid at home and have fun, because the education is taken care of. Oh, and reading is a religion...prepare to be drilled to Read, Read, Read to and with your children. -- Father of 2 L.V. students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

i have had children in Liberty View since the school opened in 2004. During this time we have little to complain about. I feel 98% of the teachers are top notch and truly care about our children and them receiving a quality education. Not only is education a priority so is them becoming fine young adults. Virtues are stressed as well as communtiy service. I am very pleased with this school and will be sad when we move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

Our son attended LVE for 9 months. We found his 1st Grade teacher to be excellent and so full of enthusiasm and a great motivator for the children (she now teacher 2nd grade). The school has strong community involvement and focus. We also appreciated the fact that virtues of behavior were celebrated at the school. We found the phone-mail system to be cumbersome and of little real value in the progression and advancement of our son's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

This is a great school with a very positive feel and a emphasis on student virtues.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 21, 2005

LVE is a new school in an area of professional, college-educated parents. The school has a positive learning enviroment and beautiful facility. There seems to be a greater focus on fun and feeling good than academic acheivement. Given the demographics of the area, test scores should be much higher. Some teachers are top notch, but significant teaching time is allocated to pod activities (team building), marble parties, reading parties (kite parties, movie parties, etc.), PTO activities, assemblies, etc. Many teachers tend to reward students with candy and stickers more than intrinsic rewards. Communication between parents and teachers is excellent via an easy to use voice mail system. The principal is very nice and open to communication, but prioritizes the school environment over academics. There are very few discipline concerns at LVE, but students often talk out and interfere with teaching. Music and PE progams are excellent, but the art is mediocre.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

Liberty View is a great school and the Blue Valley School District is outstanding! Excellent teachers, staff, and a very strong principal. It would be hard to consider moving. With a focus on excellence the students receive a good amount of homework, however they truly enjoy it and there is a lot to say for that in itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

100 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander100%
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students97%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander100%
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities80%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities80%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students98%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities87%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities93%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students97%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities100%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Hispanic 4% 17%
Black 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14800 South Greenwood St
Olathe, KS 66062
Phone: (913) 239-7700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Morse Elementary School
Overland Park, KS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT