Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Overland Park, KS

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Blue Valley Northwest High School 2

Posted March 03, 2014
- a community member
BVNW is a joke. On the outside they seem like a great community where everybody has a special bond with each other, but I'm telling you it's all a hoax. The students there walk around the halls trashing on people left and right. I'll admit i can become one of those people sometimes. The overall effect of it creates a school body which doesn't care about anybody but themselves. The school prides itself in high test scores and great grades,but never does anything to help those on the other side of the spectrum. The teachers there dont care about the students. There are a select few that do and even some that act like it,but the majority makes out so obvious to the student that they just want their paycheck. They have no concern for a student's success as long as the school keeps getting awards for good test scores. The school is a joke. Don't go there if you can because only the naturally smart survive.

Blue Valley Northwest High School 3

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
My daughter and son are bright kids but have so much homework that they cannot participate in after school activities. Drugs and bullying in the school is a big problem. Teachers think IEPs are meaningless and do not accept learning differences. I know of suicidal kids in this school due to unreasonable work demands and peer and teacher pressure. Teens must be the star athlete or feel failure. Kids are reminded to make good choices, but ostracized or failed if they are testing as Duke scholars but don't fit in. Dress code is not enforced. The good volunteer kids are ridiculed as losers. Students RULE this school. There are no Saturday or summer help for the many that need it. Some special ed kids are bullied or worse, treated as if they are lazy opportunists. Some special ed teachers are better than great and a Godsend. Anorexia is viewed as a good thing and girls brag about being under 95 pounds. Teens don't like dances due to the simulated sex and underclassmen are embarrassed. Overcharging at lunch is a reality and un monitored. Funding cuts hurt this school badly. Parents also wear boot shorts so it is hard to enforce rules on kids!


Blue Valley Northwest High School 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter just graduated from Blue Valley Northwest. We were delighted and impressed with the caring and encouraging teachers at BVNW. Coming from a background of small private schools, she was able to find friends easily, beginning with the fun freshman orientation. Although she never got involved in a lot of activities that was her choice, and she certainly had the opportunity. The art department at the school is excellent with a variety of programs, good facilities and excellent teachers. She developed good relationships with her teachers who were always willing to provide extra help. We had been very worried about her attending a larger public high school and feel blessed that she attended BVNW. At freshman orientation for parents the principal said the school works to develop the whole child (words which could have come from our daughter's previous Montessori schools) and I feel BVNW was successful in that respect.

Blue Valley Northwest High School 2

Posted May 30, 2012
- a student
This school puts on a great utopian veneer, but in reality it has plenty of problems. There are so many drugs here that the administration has taken a Gestapo-like approach to trying to control it, unless of course you are a star athlete, then everything gets swept under the rug. Don't get me wrong, there are plenty of great kids, but if you don't have money and the right look and demeanor, you WILL get made fun of. For guys, I suggest you learn how to fight so you can stand up to the inevitable bullying that the administration pretends barely exists, because (surprise!) it's the star athletes who do most of it. Not all of them of course, but the jocks are, well, jocks, and no amount of anti-bullying propaganda is going to change that. For girls, you'd better have the right look or you will be made fun of. Actually, that goes for the guys too. Almost everyone at this school has money, so be prepared to spend a bunch to fit in. Seriously, this school will chew you up and spit you out if you let it. It does have its great qualities, but so many of the students and teachers attempt to ruin them. I would honestly recommend private schooling if you can afford it.

Blue Valley Northwest High School 5

Posted March 14, 2011
- a student
I graduated from this school a couple years ago and loved it! The teachers are amazing and very easy to work with when missing classes for athletics. I would recommend this high school to anyone, it was the best experience I could ask for. I formed lasting friendships with the other students and still go back and visit the teachers whenever I break and they are still in school.


Blue Valley Northwest High School 5

Posted April 07, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Blue Valley Northwest High School 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a student
I am a junior at BVNW and i absoulty love it! The teachers are great here and have the student's best intrest in mind. And most students get the feeling of a family from here.

Blue Valley Northwest High School 5

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
My four children have all gone/are going to Blue Valley Northwest. My two in college have both made it to the honors programs in their respective colleges (University of Miami, FL and Southern Methodist University, TX). They were both very well prepared, and thanks to BVNW began college with many extra credit hours. This has given them the opportunity to take classes that they want to take, and have a better college experience. The teachers were all very smart, tactful, and dedicated. This school is everything I could have asked for and more.


Blue Valley Northwest High School 5

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Blue Valley Northwest High School 0
no rating

Posted February 05, 2009
- a student
I attended this school. The teachers are passionate about their job and students. A lot of them stay after hours to offer help to any child who needs it. There are so many options when it comes to extracurricular activities. The student body is quite diverse and very accepting. I loved coming to school every morning. The only negative thing I can think of is that the principals aren't as involved as they can/should be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blue Valley Northwest High School
13260 Switzer Rd, Overland Park, KS  66213
(913) 239-3400
Last modified Blue Valley Northwest High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blue Valley Northwest High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top