Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John's Military School

Private | 6-12 | 231 students

We are best known for strong academics and structure.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 18 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2010

St. John's is has taken a very troubled child and transformed him into a wonderful young man. Our son has attended for four years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

St. John's has been a tremendous benefit for our son. The school provides the structure and challenges our son needed to help him transition to young adulthood. The staff truly cares for each cadet and they realize that they fulfill not only the role of instructor for the boys, but they also become like their family away from home. Our son has learned skills and discipline since enrolling at St. John's and his academic performance has improved substantially. The student to teacher ratio has a lot to do with this but also when the teachers take a personal interest in the cadets they respond by putting in more effort. We can't say enough about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

I'm an alumni and sincerely think this school changed my life for the better. I think anybody who goes to this school will be a better person for it.


Posted September 11, 2009

I would recomend St. Johns to any parents. My son would have never graduated from high school had it not been for them. They are such a great school that I just can not say enough about them. They also taught my son how to be a man along with a very good education. I am forever in their debt for all they did for my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

Last week I enrolled my son in St. John's Military School. Many staff members reached out to both of us offering personal support whenever needed. The affection between the returning students and staff was obvious. Staff members also organize extracurricular activities for the young men to pursue. From the time we arrived, another student was with my son, offering companionship and easing the transition. Hearing former students who have returned to work at the school talk about the signifigance of SJMS in their lives, I am hopeful that my son also will experience success. Patrice Jennison
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

Just think, a school where discipline, honor, integrity, respect and hard work are taught and rewarded! My son, at the local high school had a GPA of less than 1, now has a 3.57. What more do I need to say!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

I attended SJMS form the 10th to the 12th grade. My 9th grade year in public school was a disaster. My first grading report at SJMS put me at the top of honorable mention list, and after that I was always on the honor roll. The structure and environment were great in helping me find my way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

St. John's not only teaches respect for others, it teaches the boys respect for themselves. I am so very proud of my son, but better yet, he is proud of himself. The personnel at the school have become family to us. It was the best decision I ever made for my son and his future. I would recommend St. John's to anyone wanting the best academic education and life skills education for their son. I can't thank everyone at St. John's enough for everything they have done over the last 2 years for my son and our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2007

SJMS is an all-male boarding school where the students are part of the Corps of Cadets. The Corps is lead by the cadets and supervised by the staff. It is a tremendous way for the students to develop their leadership potential in a structured environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2007

SJMS saved my son's life. He was encouraged to do his personal best academically as well as develop his self-esteem and leadership skills applied by the military structured discipline system. The teacher / pupil ratio ideally allowed the highly skilled teachers to help each child with their individual academic and personal needs. The Commandant and his assistant knew each child's name. My son often thanks me for his experience at SJMS as an upstanding soldier in the Army Marksmanship Unit.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 67%
Hispanic 10% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Black 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 73% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 19% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 8% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drill team
  • Marching band
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 5:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Andy England
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • robertf@sjms.org
Gender
  • All boys
Boarding options
  • Boarding school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • ABS
  • AMCS
Fax number
  • (785) 823-2701

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • College-credit classes in English
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Rifle Team
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Drill team
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • JROTC
  • Marching band
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$25000 - $35000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 73%
Military - 19%
Workforce - 8%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 W Otis Ave
Salina, KS 67402
Website: Click here
Phone: (866) 704-5294

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT