Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sterling High School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a student
Sterling is a fabulous High School. Great small size, bullying has never been an issue! The Debate/Forensics, Music, and Art programs are excellent and have great success, and focus on working with each student participating in the art individually. The sports programs are getting better as the years go on. The academics is fabulous. Great qualified teachers, who take time to help each individual to be successful. You can't go wrong by letting your teenager attend SHS.

Sterling High School 5

Posted November 13, 2009
- a student
I love SHS it has great programs in everything!


Sterling High School 5

Posted October 19, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Sterling High School 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a student
Sterling is a great school. I think overall anyone who attends or attended SHS would say that they wouldn't change their experience there for anything. We have a great staff of teachers, an amazing debate and forensics team, we always excel in band and choir competitions, and overall everyone can participate in anything they want to. People aren't judged here by what they participate in--you will see a football player in choir, in a play, forensics, or even helping out a big buddy. Sterling is a great school!

Sterling High School 5

Posted March 18, 2009
- a student
This school has a great student body. The stuco members really make sure that everyone gets involved. I wouldn't choose to go anywhere else if given the chance.


Sterling High School 5

Posted October 20, 2008
- a parent
I recently asked my daughter, who attends one of the top ten universities in the nation, whether she felt Sterling High School had prepared her well for college. Absolutely! The debate program at SHS is one of the best in the state. Music ensembles, both vocal and instrumental, regularly place at the highest state levels. Art programs place at state levels. In forensics (speech events), SHS has only lost one state championship in 17 or 18 years. Most academics are excellent. But I think the best thing about Sterling is that programs are scheduled so that students don't have to choose between sports or other extracurricular programs. Many athletes participate in drama, debate, music and other programs. Teachers are great and the parental involvement is amazing.

Sterling High School 1

Posted February 01, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Sterling High School 5

Posted December 28, 2004
- a parent
Sterling is a great school. I would never go anywhere else even if i had the chanse. Our art dep.(drama,4n6,deb8,and choir) are totaly top of the line. the only thing i don't like about sterling is even though we have a great art department the attitude here is that sports are everything. so other than that we go to the best school in the country, with great teachers and a pretty okay principal. Thank You!


Sterling High School 5

Posted December 15, 2003
- a teacher
Sterling is an outstanding school system. Our academic standards are high and we have one of the top fine arts programs in the state with our forensics, drama, band, choir, and art all consistently receiving exceptional marks!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sterling High School
308 East Washington, Sterling, KS  67579
(620) 278-2171
Last modified Sterling High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sterling High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top