Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chase Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2011

There is no other school like Chase out there. My three years there were the best of my life. Everyone there is nice and polite. A lot of after school activities. From my first to last year Chase gave me a sense of belonging. I love this school. A sub shared his story of Chase. He says " I first came to Chase four years ago. I was very scared to come here because Chase was known as a bad school. They prove that to me. I was so upset with the students and staff that I bowed never to return. And here I am four years later. Proving that you are not the same kids. Let me tell you this. You are NOT the same kids. Everyone in this building has changed me. I have not one negitive thought of Chase. I shall be returning here untill you scare me off again. Although I have a feeling that will not happen." Obviously Chase is a very good school. I think there isn't one school better. Please experience Chase. You will not regret it. - Graduate of Chase Middle School, Alex Munoz


Posted November 13, 2006

Chase middle School, I personally, think that is is a great school. You have to go in there with a good & positive attitude, otherwise you'll be treated as your attitude. These kids know how to be respectful, but they expect respect to give it. That's all I have to say.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2006

Why aren't there more after school programs for students? There is no STUCO, Yearbook, Pep club, or cheerleaders. There is however after school tutoring available as well as an after school program that seems to babysit kids. Once a year there is a musical that is awesome. Kids can get involved in sports but not if they are in 6th grade, other than being managers. The assistant principal is awesome. My kid didn't even realize who the actual principal was until November. From what I hear she lets the students know she doesn't respect/support certain teachers. The teachers turnover is outrageous. How can our kids learn when there are more than 7 new teachers a year? This should not be happening. I am really concerned. The students need more motivation to learn at this school. Some of the long term teachers are awesome as well. More parent involvment would be wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

The faculy and staff at Chase Middle School are willing to go the extra mile for students. However, there are many new changes that took place this school year. More than 6 new teachers were hired. Only a few staff members have been at the school longer than 3 years. I anticipate that this will not change next year as well with several faculty members not returning. The staff that does feel supported by administration stays around. Those that do stay are exceptional teachers who will fight for your childs education. There are still fights that occur in the halls despite the many cameras throughout the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 19, 2005

Wos I give this school a 5 star rating. My son has just started his first year here. Basically 4 days of school. And alrady i had a health related incident happen in the school, and in that happening i met a lot of the staff and it was as if i had been their for years. They are outgoing and helpful and super knowledgeable. I was worried about him going there but i am not anymore. I thought he would have it rough but that is not the case. I had heard so many horror stories but i had to experience it for my self and i have and i love the school. Go Cougars. Your the best. Thank you Mr Hershberger , Ms Carter and nurse Dolly you guys are awesome keep it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

Wonderful kids, many great teachers. Lots of poverty, but most of the teachers are sensitive to student needs and are working hard to help them overcome their disadvantages. Great social worker and counselors as well. They also have an after school program which is meeting the academic and social needs of about 40 kids a day.j
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2004

My daughter went to Chase for three years, under two different principals. Both principals were good, and loved the kids. The new principal, now in her second year, is doing marvelous work. Sure, there are some teachers who need help, and many of them are getting it. There are also some absolutely magical staff members who want to work with a diverse group of students and they are performing miracles every day. Many of the CMS students are very needy, and many of the staff are helping to deal with those issues in a positive way. I was pleased with my daughter's overall experiences at Chase M.S. We could have sent her elsewhere, but are glad we did not. Parents who work with and support the staff's efforts will be happy with Chase Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

I am sorry to say that this is not a good school. Discipline is weak, teachers attitudes are poor, and kids that are quiet, well behaved and just do as they are supposed to are often overlooked. Fights happen on an almost daily basis and most halls are not monitored by teachers. Some teachers spend almost as much time complaining about their jobs to the students as they do actually teaching. And the school administrators and teachers have such poor communication, when there is a problem it is very difficult to get any information. Bullying is overlooked in many cases. And there does not seem to be anyone there that will accept responsibility for anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

I have not been pleased with Chase Middle School. There were many fights at the school, discipline problems were not addressed, and district protocol was not followed. Our child was punched in the stomach and this was witnessed by a teacher. We were not notified and when I called the school I was told that nothing was done to the other student and I was not notified because he was 'not hit that hard' When I was referred to the Assistant Principle I was told by him that it is not my business what is done to the other student and besides, no one ever told him. This was a common response from teachers. Teachers also complained to students about their work load, the superintendent, their pay and that they needed more snow days and time off. There are a handful of good dedicated teachers. No extra activities except sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

160 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

161 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
63%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

160 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2012.

155 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

158 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

156 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
62%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 78% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2009.

142 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American57%
Hispanic51%
Multi-ethnic46%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities53%
Proficient in English29%

Reading

All Students62%
African American43%
Hispanic67%
Multi-ethnic55%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities46%
Proficient in English43%

U.S. History and Government

All Students40%
African American22%
Hispanic37%
Multi-ethnic46%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities24%
Proficient in English7%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
African American61%
Hispanic64%
Multi-ethnic60%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities46%
Proficient in English43%

Reading

All Students73%
African American62%
Hispanic69%
Multi-ethnic73%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities54%
Proficient in English64%

Science

All Students54%
African American39%
Hispanic42%
Multi-ethnic55%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities28%
Proficient in English29%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
African American81%
Hispanic87%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities72%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students67%
African American53%
Hispanic69%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities45%
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students64%
African American56%
Hispanic64%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities33%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 67%
Hispanic 36% 17%
Black 16% 7%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2250 NE State St
Topeka, KS 66616
Phone: (785) 295-3840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT