Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brooks Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2010

My children attended Brooks Elementary and now my grandchild attends also... The faculty, staff and volunteers all work together to make these development years the best experience for each child. I know because I have seen and experienced it now for 2 generations. I see it as tradition at Brooks Elementary to teach morals, values and reading,respect along with the essentials of reading, writing and math. They go beyond to give special help to a child were and when needed, so that every child is able excel and their personal best and feel good about themselves. My grandchild loves school, never wants to miss and this is seen in most all the children. It is not just a education - it is a great experience for each child to hold close for a lifetime. My children have - my daughter have so much fun sharing her Brooks stories with her daughter.


Posted April 19, 2010

We have a great support group of parents, teachers, students and community at our school. Our students care about one another in a depth that is unusual for this age group. For example at our recent Buy One Get One free book Fair we had an overwhelming percentage of students doneate their free books to classmates that were unable to purchase one for themselves. We had several teachers and parenst buy for ones that were unable to also. Then our PTA took it one step further and garnered a list of all other students that were unable to get a book and purchased for them. Every student went home with a book that week. Our teachers care about everyone of their students and always go extra mile to help them!! Our school deserves recogntion!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Brooks Elementary offers their students an excellent curriculum taught by top rate teachers. The students are taught the value of community, family, and friendship. The teachers and staff genuinely care about the students education and general well being. They always seem to go the extra mile to insure the students really understand what is being taught. The parent and student involvement is outstanding. I have never been so impressed with another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

My son just completed first grade at Brooks and I couldn't have wished for a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

I am a single father who just recently had the pleasure of having my kids live with me. I am fortunate that they transferred into Brooks. The teachers and staff that I have had pleasure of dealing with have gone out of their way to help in the transition. I would most definitely recommend this school to any parent who is currently seeking the best possible for their kids. I look forward to the nest 5 years at Brooks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

My children have simply bloomed since attending Brooks. They have learned so much and had fun doing it in the process. The Teachers are just wonderful. They go out of their way to make each and every child feel special. My children are transfer students and I believe it is the best choice I have made regarding my childrens education. I can not say enough about this school. The PTA is wonderful and they do such a good job making the activities fun and enjoyable for the kids. Again this school rates a 10 in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2004

I can't thank just one person at this school. I have to thank all the staff, including the Special Area Teachers. I have had five children attending this school all in one year. If it weren't for the staff at this school, I would've lost my mind trying to keep everything straight! They helped my kids and even worked with them after school when they seen extra help was needed. This school has been absolutely wonderful and I'm ecstatic that my children have had this outgoing team working for them. If anyone is looking for the best School in Bullitt County, look no further! Your kids will love this school as well as yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2003

Since day one my children have blossomed at this school. The Teachers are just wonderful. For the first time since starting school I have not had to fight with my kids to do their homework. I am tickled to death that they love this school. Thank you Mrs.C.Frisby, and Mrs. Boggs you have been a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
Female37%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students50%
Female57%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students58%
Female66%
Male46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students47%
Female50%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students46%
Female43%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female73%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female38%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students46%
Female44%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students51%
Female53%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students38%
Female50%
Male27%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 81%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (502) 957-5498

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1430 Brooks Hill Road
Brooks, KY 40109
Website: Click here
Phone: (502) 869-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Freedom Elementary School
Shepherdsville, KY






Roby Elementary School
Shepherdsville, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT