Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morningside Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 553 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2012

My child has attend this school for 3 years and I have been very pleased with his education. He has a 504 plan and the school and teachers have all been very helpful. School can be a struggle for my child but he wakes up wanting to go everyday and LOVES his teacher. We are out of district and pay tuition and I must say it is totally worth it. The principle is new this year and I think he is doing well so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

This school is a good school to send your children to. The teachers will help whenever they ned assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

My older daughter enjoys the school very much, especially since she excels at everything there. However my youngest daughter who is in first grade is a different story. In kindergarden her teacher suggested to us to hold her back since she was smaller then everyone else. We pursued meetings with the teacher all year but never received a reply. Eventually we had to got to the school weekly to get answers. This year is worst. We asked the teacher to commnicate with us on what she does daily on her behavior and her school work so we could work on the same things at home. We gave the teacher a journal to use for this, in one month she has told us four times she dont have time to deal with the journal. It takes two minutes to write in it, so basically she dont have time for my child. Oh get this, she too has suggested that we hold her back. There is still four months of school left and my childs teacher has given up on her. Next step is for me too go to the board of education. If your child is really smart they will do fine, if they have trouble and you want to be involved with your child LOOK OUT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2010

Loved this school for my Kindergarten daughter. Mrs. Knapp is wonderful. The principal, counselor, and interventionalist are very nice. We also really liked Ms. Miller, Mrs. Garabato, and Mrs. Beasley. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

This school has been such a blessing. I have three children that attend and they are in greta hands. All of the teachers are friendly and helpful. The pricipal is great and is always there when you need to get in touch with her,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

My oldest child has attended here for 3 full years, at the end of this school year. The staff remains consistently GREAT, the teachers are ABOVE average & the PTO puts its heart into all they do. I have served on the PTO as a chair of a committee, and have seen first hand, how deeply passionate these parents & teachers are. I will miss this area & their support of military families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

Awesome School. Each year just gets better and better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

Amazing school! Great curriculum and outstanding teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

I witnessed a situation in the school yard during recess. The reaction of the teachers from Morningside Elem was nothing but exceptional. They performed as if they practised the drill everyday. The staff is very understanding and cooperative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

Morningside Elementary is an outstanding school in an exceptional school district. I have been very pleased with our first 4 years at this school. We have a devoted, caring, enthusiastic principal and numerous dedicated teachers at each grade level. One thing that I have been particularly happy about is the way in which teachers demonstrate flexibility and adaptability in order to teach each child at his/her own level. If they need to go to a different room or group to work at a different level on one certain subject, that is no problem. Also, children with learning disabilities are fully accepted and help is given at the appropriate level. There is a strong group of parents who are involved in all aspects of the school (though we would always like to see more parents involved). Morningside Elementary is a great place to be. No complaints from me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

For the first couple of years of my daughter's schooling she was in public schools. I wasn't impressed one bit. We then moved to Elizabethtown about three years ago but she has been going to Morningside for two years. I have never been so impressed with any school ever. What the teachers have done for her no else has even come close. They have challenged her in every way possible for them to. These teachers here have taught her how to express herself in so many ways I didn't think she was capable of doing such things. She is preparing for what the world will be throwing at her and this school is showing her how to handle it from every direction possible. The teachers and other staff members of this school have been such a wonderful influence for my daughter and have become great friends to me. Thank you all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female38%
Male38%
African American5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students50%
Female62%
Male38%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students69%
Female70%
Male69%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students58%
Female54%
Male62%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female54%
Male62%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female79%
Male87%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female59%
Male63%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female66%
Male59%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students67%
Female66%
Male67%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female76%
Male67%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 81%
Black 15% 11%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

313 Morningside Dr
Elizabethtown, KY 42701
Phone: (270) 769-3359

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St James Catholic School
Elizabethtown, KY




Gloria Dei Lutheran School
Elizabethtown, KY


Spectrum Care Academy
Elizabethtown, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT