Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Christian Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 686 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

They will help children with learning issues, but the parent often has to initialize the meetings. If the parent doesn't raise the concern, they will just keep doing "interventions" that don't get very far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

I HAVE TWO SONS THAT ATTEND TO THE SCHOOL BOTH OF THE TEACHERS ARE GREAT THE 4TH GRADE TEACHER MRS.COATS SHE HAS DONE VERY WELL WITH MY SON JUST WOULD LIKE TO THANK HER FOR ALL THE HELP AND CARE AND THEN WE HAVE THE PRE K TEACHER MRS JAMIE MY SON REALLY LIKED HAVEING HER FOR A TEACHER TO ALL PARENTS PICK MRS.JAMIE "GREAT" WE HAVE TWINS GOING TO HER NEXT YEAR AND I AM VERY COMFARTABLE WITH THEM GOING ... THANKS TO BOTH OF YOU
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

My daughters have attended this school for the past 2 years. They are now in 4th with Mrs. Hazelrigg and 5th with Mrs Hale. My 4th grader is doing exceptional with the normal misbehavior and Mrs Hazelrigg is a wonderful teacher. My 5th grader has Asperger's Syndrome and the teachers way of dealing with this is not to be much help and modifying her work so they can just push her through instead of helping her succeed and having good parent/teacher activity. My 5th grader already has disabilities with daily activity and it only makes it worse when they do not assist me in making sure her homework is coming home instead of using recess time to put her by herself to finish what should have come home in the first place. Mrs Giles the principle is nice but what was discussed at the beginning of the year to make sure my 5th grader is accomplishing something they are just pushing her aside so they don't have to deal with her and then putting more work on me as a parent when she comes home. They only care about making #1 school in the district and not worrying about the student that have learning disabilities only making sure they have as little as possible to do to make the grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

I have had a child in this school since 2006. It has been a wonderful place to learn. The teachers and staff are friendly. The school is always clean. The teachers are well educated and treat the children with respect and ask for it in return. My children have never had any problems here. The past few years South Christian has had the highest scores in the county for reading and math. Both teachers and students have worked hard to achieve that. I volunteer alot at the school for all grades. They love parent involvement. Anyone who can volunteer is greatly appreciated. There is always information going home to parents every week to keep them updated about what is happening in the classroom and teachers are always willing to talk to the parents if it is needed or wanted. You can call, e-mail, or make a time to see them in person. They have after school care until 6pm everyday if needed. And for 3rd-5th graders they can try out in the fall for the school jumprope team. South Christian has been a great school and I will be sad when we have to move on and up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

S. Christian has always held high standards for the students. After many years of exceeding state and county standards, this year they blew the top off and got a 102% on the testing for 3rd,4th and 5th graders. The school is clean, bright and staff is friendly and helpful. I have had a child there since 2001 and have never had a problem with the school. I wish all the schools in the county were as good! It warms my heart when my kids come home every day and still love school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

My son goes to this school and has adhd and hes doing great. His teacher is very good with him and that helps alot...I was worrid after reading some things on the net about this school but my sons first year has been going great..(btw he has severe adhd)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2005

This school is a good school for most children. Children that have ADHD have a harder time due to the lack of training for teachers in the area of dealing with children who have ADHD. They need to offer some kind of training for the teachers on that topic. My children have gone there for 5 years and have enjoyed it all except for my child who has Severe ADHD. She was pulled and is now Homeschooled. They also need to have bus monitors on the buses. My son had a knife pulled on him on the bus in 2004. Other than a few negatives this school has been great for my other children whom do not have ADHD
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2004

This a great school! My son has been going to this school for 3 years now and he loves it. They have wonderful teachers here and they always have time for the parents. This school has a great principal, which makes sure everything is on task. This school is very supportive of military families, which is good. This school has an excellent counselor, whom helps the children whose parent(s) has been deployed adjust. It is very easy for the child to adapt in this school environment. Everyone in this school is very friendly, which includes the principal, teachers, students, cafeteria workers, and custodians. This school also has an after school care. Overall I think this is a wonderful school and I would want my child to go to this school over any other school in the Christian County District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

My daughter went to this school for 5th grade in (2002-2003). While she was there I was very pleased w/ the teachers and the quality of education that she recieved.She graduated 5th grade on the Principal's list.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female49%
Male50%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female59%
Male62%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students67%
Female74%
Male60%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students38%
Female39%
Male38%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female52%
Male45%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female78%
Male90%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female35%
Male41%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female50%
Male51%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students73%
Female68%
Male78%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students47%
Female60%
Male32%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 82%
Black 25% 11%
Hispanic 12% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12340 Herndonoak Grove Rd
Herndon, KY 42236
Phone: (270) 887-7350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Barkley Elementary School
Fort Campbell, KY


Lincoln Elementary School
Fort Campbell, KY



Holiday Elementary School
Hopkinsville, KY


Marshall Elementary School
Fort Campbell, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT