Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Laurel High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1372 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2008

this is and excellent school i am about to graduate and i would just like to thank freddy cornett and larry welch two of the few good teachers and north laurel high school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2008

I am about to graduate from North and I think that it is a very fine school with teachers who are willing to help you to succeed!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2007

The great majority of teachers in this school lack the will to help students who genuinely want to succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2007

Excellent Leadership. The school is in outstanding condition!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 30, 2007

I have had 2 children to graduate from NLHS and one who is attending now. I have been very pleased with the education that each of my children have received while attending North. I would rate several of the teachers among the best in the state. Roger and Sue Wright, Lynn White, Tami Herrell, Bridget Napier and Susie McCowan just to name a few. I have gone through 3 administrators while my children have been there and I have been pleased with all of their leadership qualities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

I am attended North for four years, I thought it was a very good school. The teachers were really great for the most part. The activities and sports were great. Everyone was very helpful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 29, 2005

Just a note, I have a child who has attended both South High and North High. Comparing the two, I think North High has better class choices and the 6 classes instead of 4 blocks is a better way of teaching. They have more classes to help with career choices as well as DRIVERS ED. Rachel G. who is a counselor is awesome, Sharon Y. is awesome as well. I am sure alot of other people there are as well, I have only dealt with those two and the office staff whom are great to deal with as well. Secondly, the traffic situation at North is absolutely the smoothest traffic flow I have ever seen. South High traffic is dangerous and NO ONE, including the parents give turn signals, everyone just zooms in and out and someone will be killed or badly hurt if something isn't done with this situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

We are absolutely disgusted with the way that the staff at NLHS has treated our daughter this past year. As parents were snubbed and spoken to with condescending tones whenever we dealt with the administration. I am looking into every option out there so that my child will not have to be subjected to another year at this miserable institution!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2005

The NJROTC program here is excellent. I am a third year cadet and I am about to be a fourth year cadet. Without this school, I couldn't have had an oportunity to be in this program. North Laurel High School is a great place to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2005

North Laurel High School is a great school for anyone to go to. The administration is so caring and giving. Like Micah said, they'll do anything to help us. The subject matter that is taught is wonderful. The teachers definitely help to prepare you for future education. If you're ever having trouble in a class, they'll do everything they can to help. We have great sport teams. Plus, although our school is strict, they still allow us to have fun. Personally, I love North and couldnt imagine ever going to another school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2004

I am the parent of a former NLHS student. My daughter was ranked number one in her class two years ago. Beth S, my daughter is now attending an ivoy league school and is receiving all As. This is possible because she received such an academic backing at NLHS. South is not any better than north. If your student is willing to study and go the distance the school will not matter. -Mrs. Scoville
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

I am a parent who relocated 3 years ago to London. I did some investigating myself on both high schools in the area (North and South Laurel). I heard the same thing from everyone I talked to. The better students attend South Laurel High. This has proven to be fact in their state-wide test scores. I chose to send my child to South and you should do the same!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2004

This is a great school.It's a regular school.The teachers are great they do all they can to help us with anything we need.The principle and the rest of the staff, helps us with problems that occur outside of the school when we ask for it.Our curriculum covers everything a student needs to be successful in the real world.Parents care about what happens in our school.Students act responseibly and try to make our school its best.Anyone who moves or is looking for a new school.I suggest this school to you.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students52%
Female60%
Male44%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students31%
Female42%
Male20%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities2%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students62%
Female74%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
36%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
35%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
25%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students34%
Female33%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students31%
Female33%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students52%
Female64%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students43%
Female36%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20143What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on average composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 81%
Black 2% 11%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 East Hal Rogers Parkway
London, KY 40741
Phone: (606) 862-4699

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT