Advertisement
Advertisement

Trinity High School

Private | 9-12 | 1381 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Louisville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $219,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2013

I was quite saddened about the previous poster. I graduated from Trinity just last year and am currently a freshman in college at University of Dayton. Freshman and half of my sophomore year I was in the above/accelerated Honors program. For the remainder of my sophomore year and high school career at Trinity I was in the academically extensive Advanced program. Trinity provided me with a phenomenal education and allowed me to grow as a man and in my faith. I scored a 32 on my ACT and received a generous scholarship from Dayton. I played intramural sports just to have fun and keep busy, but was not part of any varsity athletics. Most athletes at Trinity aren't cliquey and are friends with a variety of students. I feel as though I received an education that I couldn't have gotten at any other high school in Louisville.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2013

Everyone reads in the paper how special THS in Louisville is. It is special. The problem is if your a non athlete or a student with a learning disability you will be lost here. Before someone jumps on here and says I'm wrong" I lived it ."" I Saw It from other students." I attended here as we had a family tradition here. I was told the traditional program would help me develop socially and academically. I was wrong. The classes at that level are watered down. I will say my saving blessing was I had Mr Kale for english which helped me tremendously. I was given no guidance from the school counselor my junior year or senior year. I had no one ask me what I wanted to do or what college I like to attend. Thanks to Mr Kale and a after school studying session he offered I was able to stay motivated and attended and graduated from Murray State University. I want to conclude this review saying Trinity is a special place. But they need to re-look at the traditional program so all students who attend Trinity have the chance to grow and develop a vision or path for success. I still cheer for THS but always wish I could help students like me that go there and feel lost. Good Luck!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2012

Due to employment demands our family has lived in many cities around the nation and our children have attended multiple schools. I can say from my own experiences with a variety of learning institutions that Trinity High School offers tremendous opportunities, academically, socially, and athletically. Nine out of ten teachers hold a Master's degree or higher, state-of-the-art technology is used daily, and nine academic/guidance counselors on staff for approximately 1,400 students. 98 percent of the recent (2012) graduating class is attending higher education. I believe PARENTS hold the primary responsibility for educating and leading their children. If you are actively engaged in your children's education and development into positive, productive humans and are looking for an environment, staff, and administration that supports and fosters working to one's full potential, giving back to others, and respect, this school is a great choice. Our family doesn't happen to be Catholic but we have never been made to feel uncomfortable or unwelcome because of our differing faith. We chose this school for our sons based on quality of EDUCATION offered, not religious tenets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2012

My son is in his junior year at Trinity. The teachers and staff are dedicated to growth and kindness. I believe that we are fortunate to have such an outstanding school in Louisville. Sports may take the spotlight often, but academics is excellent. Add to these attributes, the teachings of our Catholic faith, and the environment is ripe for a well balance between mind, body and spirit. It's first choice for a great education. I am proud to be a part of Trinity High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

trintity was a great school and i loved that everyone was like family, but there are alot of drugs and drinking going on there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2009

Very welcoming school, they want everyone to achieve their full potential and they do it. I like the manners and the discipline that they instill in the the boys. It has been a great life changing experience for my son. Extremely organized school that is always working to improve. Excellent sports programs too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

Very pleased with the academics, the caring attitude and the way the school instills manners in the students. My son uses 'Thank You' and 'Please' more now than I expected (without having to remindhim about it). It's a shame we can't replicate this across the board in the non-private school environment, since the cost of private school tuition prohibits most people from being able to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

the atmosphere of Trinity is one of a very close family. i attended Trinity for my first three years of high school and after i switched i always missed the feeling of belonging that i had at Trinity
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2008

I dont know what happened to th eformer student whorated the school as a 1 star. He is obviously disgruntled for some personal reason. It was a great school and experience.


Posted November 7, 2008

Trinity is a special place. My son came from a school with only 250 total students, and I was worried he would be overwhelmed by the number of students (1400+) and the size if the campus. After 2 weeks attending Trinity felt completely at home! With the many clubs and the house system, he had many new friends! Trinity was a great decision!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I think Trinity is the best school in Louisville for my two sons. The academics are strong, and there is something for everyone at this school. I don't know any of my kids friends who would want to be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

This school has it all. My two sons went there and credit it with much of their current success. Sincere teacher interest. Caters to a wide base of students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

This school is awesome it has every club in the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2006

Trinity high school has the ' complete package', great academics, superb facilities, strong athletic teams and a variety of student activities. In 2005 Trinity had more Governor Scholars than any school in Louisville. If you're son is serious about experiencing the best of Louisville than send him to Trinity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

The only good thing this school has to offer is athletics. The academic programs are unacceptable, none of the kids care. I reccomend sending your son somewhere else.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

Trinity High School is the most amazing place! The faculty is outstanding, all very caring individuals who want your child to succeed in every way. The religious education is everything you ever dreamed of, excellent. Everyone is welcomed there and by the time the guys reach their Senior year they are all truly brothers for life.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 85%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Black 4% 11%
Asian 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Louisville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4011 Shelbyville Rd
Louisville, KY 40207
Phone: (502) 736-2103

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sacred Heart Academy
Louisville, KY


Highlands Latin School
Louisville, KY


Ballard High School
Louisville, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT