Advertisement
Advertisement

Evangel Christian School

Private | 1-12 | 216 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Louisville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

I used to go to Evangel and i personally think that this school is the worst school anyone could ever go to, there is no respect. The kids are all out of control, everyone is so hateful. Christian? I would say only the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

I really enjoy Evangel Christian School. The student and faculty are a close-knit group and help create a family environment. I am so thankful for the chapel services, where the anointing flows and lives are changed. I also love the bible leader classes that instill godly morals into the students and provoke theological discussions. The school uniform is appropriate and decent in style. The parents and faculty are kind and helpful. There are several problems though. There is sometimes dissension between Evangel students and gossiping is a common problem. The sports programs have been lacking recently, due to scheduling problems, few interested or dedicated players, and uncoordinated seasons. The education is average, and students are not motivated in achieving their goals or completing assignments. Also, there is a big problem with disrespectful students, who blatantly put other students down and defy the teachers' authority. This school has its downsides, but I am so thankful for this school. The missions program is incredible and the performing arts program is phenomenal. I just pray that revival happens in Evangel Christian School. I'm thankful for all that God is going to do.


Posted August 27, 2013

I evangel is awesome my children get the word taught to them.They learned the bible so they can live right daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

My children attended Evangel for elementary and high school. I found Evangel to provide exceptional quality in spiritual emphasis, and traditional academics. My children were also active in sports, mission trips, and other organizations that provided them with activities to further enhance their lives. My children were very successful in college after attending Evangel. Thank God for this outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

My children were at Evangel for much of their elementary/middle and high school years. Evangel was one of the greatest experiences for my children as it gave them good academic preparation for college, provided them with exccellent role models, gave them a good group of school peers with great integrity and character, and gave them a spiritual foundation that now affects them greatly as adults. Hats off to Evangel Christian School. Money could not pay for the benefits my chiildren have received from attending this outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

My son loves Evangel, and so do I. My son is very active in sports, gets along with everyone and we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

There are too many clic's that are just hateful and evil to others. This is supposed to be a christain school. You have teachers that bully students and if parents step in,it's only worse on the child. Policies of displine and punishment exist where they shouldn't and don't exist where they should.This school is in deep with politics, it only matters who your parents are and how much money they have and give. If you have enough money, you run the school. The school is running the true christain kids out, the students who do want to be someone and contribute positively to society. Dr.Hoagland was once very much respected and now needs to find the person who really cared and lisented to everyone, in himself again or if not step down, if he nolonger cares.where there was love for the school now ther is only disappointment.This is my opion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

evangel is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2006

As a former student, Roger Hoagland was my principal for my senior year and is the backbone of the school's success. The school improved greatly over the previous year under his leadership. When I attended, there was a severe lack in math and science programs. Teacher quality was not good in those areas. Extracurricular activities were geared toward either basketball, cheerleading or choir/drama. College prepratation needed drastic improvement. My math skills were beyond poor. I called my local college and asked what hours the school day was. That was how unprepared I was for college life academically and socially. The area of discipline needs improvement as well. Wearing uniforms does not solve all discipline problems. Overall the school is middle of the road. If the areas of discipline, math and science was address the school could really excell.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 8, 2006

i found it a great school, attended 5+ years under the leaderhip of Dr. Hoagland. i felt extremely prepared for university in fact it seemed much easier than highschool academic wise. Honestly...as always it is up to kids to really push, and the responsibility for the push is usually related to the parents as much as the school. ((not that the kid can escape responsibility either))
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 2, 2006

I have two girls one of which went K-12 at Evangel. The grade school grades were absolutely wonderful there. There was some tendency toward social clickishness in upper grades but I'm not sure if it is more then elsewhere or not. I'm an engineer by profession and their Math and Science in the high school was terrible. My daughter was, fortunately for her, not going into that dicipline and was very well prepared otherwise making nearly straight 'A's in a private college. The music was terrific at the time which is what she has studied in college. The science problem, and Mr. Hoagland leaving half way through her senior year made us decide to move to Oldham County for my younger daughters education. I hope he can get it turned around again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

I am also a graduate of Evangel and am now sending my daughter to Evangel. Yes all school are going to be socially competitive, that is human nature and unfortunately some kids let social competition get in the way of academic competition. Being at Evangel for 12 years I saw both aspects of it. I totally agree with the other parent that said Roger Hoagland is a big part of this school, and was so hyped when he came back this year! After having him as my principal most of my years at Evangel, and then being without him for my daughters first two years, I saw a huge difference and was contemplating taking my child out in the next year or so. Now I'm going to find a way to make sure all three of my kids can go back and have fun like I did at that school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

With my husband's profession, we had the opportunity to view many different schools nationwide. All of our children attended Evangel with two graduating from there. I cant speak highly enough about the school. My kids all went on to college, well prepared and much further ahead academically than most of their peers. In fact, each of my children had no problem maintaining a 3.0 or above both in private colleges or state universities. The highlight of the school however, lies with Roger Hoagland and his staff. All of the administration poured their hearts out for the students not only giving them the academic edge, but more importantly, a love and desire to serve God. The mission trips were outstanding and life changing, thanks to Mr. Hoagland. The Nurse's Aid program, the Choir class, and other electives were outstanding. The sports program was fun, competitive, and overall a wonderful experience. Thank you Evangel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

I am thrilled with Evangel Christian School. My children have all graduated from Evangel and each spent at least 12 years there. The Christian environment was wonderful, discipline great, Christian emphasis, excellent, and they were well-prepared for college. Two of my children have now graduated from college and did very well. Evangel, I applaud you for an outstanding job in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

I've read the other reviews and am disappointed that others have not responded. I attended Evangel for twelve years and I believe it is a wonderful school. Every school has it's problems, but Evangel is full of great memories for me. Roger Hoagland was my principal for the majority of these years and I do not think there could ever be a better principal out there. He truly cared about the students and really took part. The mission trips had the biggest impact on me as well as the sports. Even though we didn't have a winning record, it was fun. Academically I feel it prepared me for college. As far as parent involvement, that is up to the parent. I believe Evangel is a wonderful school and if I were still in state, I would send my little girl there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 6, 2004

I attended this school for 8 years. I felt like the student environment was highly competitive in a social manner but not academically. I was not aware how much I suffered academically until I attended college and realized that in the areas of math and science, I was so far behind the others that I struggled to stay motivated. I hope that my Alma Mater improves and other students who follow in my footsteps do not experience the lack of quality in education that I encountered.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2004

My son went to evangel, and I will never send any of my kids there ever again. I don't feel the academic performance meets the standards I hold for my children. I also don't like the hateful environment between the students. The students have no respect for the teachers or administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 85%
Black 15% 11%
Hispanic 7% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5400 Minors Ln
Louisville, KY 40219
Phone: (502) 968-7744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT