Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
105 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Waldorf School Of Louisville 5

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
I really wish I would have known about the Waldorf School of Louisville before!! My daughter has been at Waldorf for a year, and her and I can not be any happier. She thoroughly enjoys going to school every day and has made great friendships with her fellow kindergarten classmates and children from other grades. I am impressed at how caring and helpful her teachers and the teachers of the other kindergarten class are. The school works very hard to create a great community for the children and parents alike. I love that the children are taught to love nature, the arts and music from an early age. The staff at the school is amazing, extremely helpful and supportive!!

Waldorf School Of Louisville 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
I'm beginning my 8th year as a parent at the Waldorf School of Louisville and I am still filled with gratitude for the education my children are receiving. The curriculum and Waldorf experience helps support my child's growth as a whole human being, not just one facet of who they are. It allows my children to experience art, beauty, nature, music, science, history, languages and math as living subjects, not just dry topics they have to memorize long enough to pass a test. My children can speak eloquently and with understanding about geometry, then turn around and sing a Norse folk song in three part harmonies with classmates. This education teaches children how to learn, gives them the gift of confidence and allows them to develop as a whole person. I feel confident they will be fully equipped to go out and not just meet the challenges of the world, but bring light and beauty and creative thinking to whatever they encounter.


Waldorf School Of Louisville 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
The Waldorf School of Louisville is unlike any other educational institution I have ever encountered. I have two children enrolled in the early childhood program. They are lovingly cared for by teachers who are kind, highly educated, and deeply committed to the development of my children as individuals. While at the Waldorf School of Louisville, I have watched my children's capacity for creativity, self-awareness and compassion grow. As a parent, I understand and appreciate the need for volunteerism and am grateful for the opportunity to bond with the school community through festivals, fundraisers and community celebrations. We are fortunate to have a Waldorf School in our city, as I can't imagine sending my children anywhere else. There is simply no comparison.

Waldorf School Of Louisville 5

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
I have five children- each with different strengths, weaknesses and needs and all of my children have been served well and received a solid education at the Waldorf School of Louisville. I am confident that the foundation that they are given in academics, arts and social interactions will serve them well as they move to high school and beyond. They are becoming passionate, active learners, engaged by the world around them. Subjects are introduced as they are developmentally ready for them so they catch on quickly and the learning goes deeply and does not just become a list of unrelated facts to be memorized. I feel lucky that Louisville is home to a Waldorf school and that it now goes through Grade 8.

Waldorf School Of Louisville 5

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
Thanks to this school, my children are happy at school and willing learners both in and out of the classroom.


Waldorf School Of Louisville 5

Posted July 18, 2013
- a teacher
The emphasis in Waldorf school is on life long learning and provides a sustainable approach to academic success, while preserving many stages of childhood that are so often disregarded. Recent studies on the developing brain have recognized the importance of play, free movement, imagination and creative problem solving. Many parents are questioning the wisdom of over-scheduling, pressures of testing, hours of homework, social and academic burn out, things that waldorf has been trying to avoid for decades. The goal in Waldorf education is to create freedom. This translates into happy adults who are fulfilling their life's purpose in the world.

Waldorf School Of Louisville 1

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
Waldorf's learning/teaching styles are well suited for most children. However, as a warning for any child that may have a learning disability this could be missed or looked over in its severity. Waldorf makes great use of multi sensory learning, but No standardized testing. They also do not build a strong foundation for children that have difficulty reading. While its a great atmosphere, it's not well suited for all children.

Waldorf School Of Louisville 5

Posted September 16, 2010
- a parent
You will not find a healthier childhood experience for your child's developing mind, body, and spirit than Waldorf. In the culture we live it is easy to look at academics and miss the importance of your child's well being. Principal leadership does not necessarily apply to the school's structure. Notice the teacher quality and parent invovement.


Waldorf School Of Louisville 5

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
Very good kindergarden experience, excellent grades experience! My child in the grades is mastering the basics with a much deeper level of understanding than afforded by traditional education. Most importantly the children are happy and stress free! Wish the education continued to middle school ... maybe it will in the future.

Waldorf School Of Louisville
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I love the Waldorf School of Louisville because it honors childhood by providing a developmentally appropriate curriculum. Movement and the arts are integrated throughout all the lessons. Children spend 25% of each day outside playing, learning and exploring. It is a peaceful and beautiful school environment -- a place my child loves to go each day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waldorf School Of Louisville
8005 New LaGrange Road, Louisville, KY  40222
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (502) 327-0122
Last modified Waldorf School Of Louisville is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top