Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Luhr Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My son started kindergarten this year. This has been a great year! The principal, Mrs. Schroering, is great! Mrs. Barnes is an excellent teacher! My son has learned so much and has done a great job with all his subjects. My daughter went to Bates from k-5th grade and I believe Luhr is better!

Luhr Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Big thanks to Mrs. Barnes for being a great teacher! My son has learned so much and has done a great job this year. He can read very well!


Luhr Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My son is in kindergarten. He is given a packet of homework for the week. He can get it done in 1 day

Luhr Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
I have witnessed teachers telling kids to say please, thank you, sorry, and excuse me

Luhr Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
The only reason why I did not say strongly agree is because my son is in kindergarten and one day they played heads up 5 up (not heads up 7 up because the teacher thought that since they were so young they would do better with 5 than 7). There were students peeking and I think the teacher should been strict about this, because they need to be taught to NOT cheat period point blank.


Luhr Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
My son had a great first great year there on his way back for 1st grade.

Luhr Elementary School 4

Posted July 20, 2012
- a parent
Mrs Schroering is an amazing principal and goes way above and beyond the call of duty!! I've seen myself how involved she is with each student and how much care she takes with each one of them. The teachers at Luhr are dedicated and genuinely love teaching, which makes a world of difference! As with all public schools there seems to be a bit of a behavior issue with some of the students. However, the staff is very limited in how they can handle these issues. All around, a wonderful environment and staff!!!

Luhr Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2011
- a parent
This has been a great school for my daughter. The teachers are great, and I truly recommend Ms. Thompson. She has been the Best teacher Yet! My daughter has learned so much from her..


Luhr Elementary School 4

Posted August 28, 2010
- a community member
I would highly recommend Ms. Karen Kruger who is the "BEST" teacher in the Jefferson County Public School system at Luhr Elementary!! She far exceeds the expectation of how you would like your child to be taught, encouraged and truly has the utmost concern for the students in her class. Our Grandson had the pleasure of being in her class for the 3rd & 4th grade. Even in the 5th grade she still stayed in contact with him to make sure he & his fellow class mates were doing well! Ms Lovanda Thompson was exceptially instrumental in welcoming him in the 2nd grade as we transitioned from Mt Washington..Ms Carole O'Bryan came in during the summer for ppw we needed..Ms Matthews and Ms Kim in the office are always there for any need or request if needed...Awesome staff!!Thank You...Cindy Mineer

Luhr Elementary School 4

Posted December 06, 2007
- a parent
This is the first year for us at Luhr, but so far it is good. They need to do more programs with the kids (like plays and musicals).

Nearby schools

Luhr Elementary School
6900 Fegenbush Ln, Louisville, KY  40228
(502) 485-8295
Last modified Luhr Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top