Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Laukhuf Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 465 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2012

My son started kindergarten at laukhuf this year. Im not exactly crazy about the school but I loved his teacher mrs.filippazzo. She is am absolute sweet heart. She works with the children very well and I belive she truly cares about her students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

I am a SAHM and was so nervous to send my child to kindergarten last year. He had Mrs Filipazzo who is an absolute doll. She and her assistant Mrs Hoops are wonderful with all the children and my shy little boy now LOVES school. I feel safe dropping him off now and am not so worried about first grade because although I prefer him with me I know he is having fun, learning and safe. The PTA hosted so many awesome events for the kids last year like the fall festival and will do even more this year. If your child goes to Laukhuf join the pta and help plan fun events to give your child memories. I think it is the best kept secert in Louisville.. They have a new principle that took over a few years ago and I personally really like her. At the walkathon she was right there walking with the kids and she is like that in everything., She really cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

This school used to be a great school. Over the years, it has had a lot of turn around including the office staff. There are only a couple of teachers that are just wonderful and the rest could care less about your child. My oldest child went K-5 and things over the years only got worse. My youngest has been bullied both in the classroom and on the bus, for all 3 years she has been there with nothing ever done to protect her. The principal and counselor do nothing to resolve problem issues and will gang up on you to get their point across. They do not care what the parent has to say about anything. My oldest had some bully issues from a student also with nothing ever done. I think the teachers bully as much as the students to some degree. The teachers do a lot of ranting and raving with each other. Seems like drama every time you turn around. They used to have a wonderful PTA but they refused to ever support them and they all went on their way after years of abuse from the staff. This school needs a lot of work to turn it around. Please do your child a favor and try another school until they can resolve their problems. I am an alumni of Laukhuf and it saddens me to see this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2009

Both of my girls go to Laukhuf and the teachers are great.. I dont think I could of asked for a better school for my kids to go to..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

My son received harder work going to school in Bullitt Co. I repeatedly asked his teacher to try something to stimulate him or give him harder work, but was ignored. I truly feel like she doesn't care and is lazy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

There are no work books sent home to help with homework. Not all children learn the same way and have difficulties. Makes it difficult for some to help their children. Get the impression that if your child has any difficulty they get pushed aside. The school seems so disorganized any more. If at all possible I would like for my son to finish elementary school else where.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

Our family is new to this area and new to Laukhuf. We were told that Laukhuf was a wonderful school but we aren't finding that to be our experience. If you ask a direct question to the principal do not plan on getting a direct response. There appears to be a lot of turn over as well for reasons other than retirement. Communication between the school and the parents isn't as organized as I expected it to be either. We do like our childs teacher and several of the other staff members but overall we wont be sticking around through 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I love Laukhuf and so does my daughter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2004

This is a great school! The teachers are caring and use the latest known strategies in teaching reaading and math. A very caring school-even for the difficult-to-like student. Teachers and staff are very willing to work with parents to do whatever is in thier child's best interest. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2003

I Think this school is awesome.It is a public school but it is better than most almost all traditional elementry school's and it's grades are off the charts.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
33%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female55%
Male54%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female34%
Male49%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students36%
Female42%
Male32%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students43%
Female42%
Male43%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female42%
Male43%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students54%
Female58%
Male52%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Female35%
Male54%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students45%
Female38%
Male51%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students55%
Female47%
Male61%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students20%
Female27%
Male15%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 82%
Black 19% 11%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5100 Capewood Dr
Louisville, KY 40229
Phone: (502) 485-8289

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Micah Christian School
Louisville, KY


Wilt Elementary School
Louisville, KY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT