Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Field Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 346 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Both of our children attend Field Elementary and love it. We are so pleased with the teachers and the entire staff. They create a family atmosphere and prepare our children academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

Field boasted the highest gains of all JCPS schools this year on the KPREP test.


Posted May 7, 2012

Field is a descent school. There are some really good teachers. However, my child is in the ECE program which needs a little help. The school counselor, Ms. Overberg seems confused about her job. My child is getting too many collaboration minutes. That seems to a problem for other students at field as well. I hear one thing from the resource teachers and another from the counselor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

I am a 5th grader at field Elem. and I LOVE this school. I have been here since Kindergarten. Our principles really know how to pick teachers. I am in AP math and I learn a lot while doing math, science, social studies, and literacy. I am so glad that I get to attend this school!


Posted October 14, 2010

i am currently a 5 grader here at field and am in ap. i have been here since 1 grade and have loved all my teachers!!:) i wil list mine 1mrs.mcnairy 2micheal ice 3mrs.lancaster 4laurie andrio 5sue mcmahon i<3 this school and so will u!!


Posted April 7, 2008

I had two sons attend Field Elementary. Their teaching, support and communication is incredible. I would highly reccomend this elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

Field has been an excellent school. They've really taken a hands on approach with my son's reading. He' s well above his age bracket, and I believe the teachers from field have had a lot to do with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

I think that Field is an excellent school. In the middle of last year, in kindergarten, my daugter was reading about two grades ahead. As I am in the PTA and am around the school on a regular basis, I think that I can safely say that I have no concerns about the school or the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

Great school and staff. All four of my children are performing above grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

I have found Field to be a fantastic experience for my family. Field seems to have a key point of difference that many schools (public and private) do not have. That is, Field maintains a good balance between being academically challenging and encouraging a holistic and life-long love of learning. Field has instituted a great AP program this year and many extracurricular activities. Field also added a full-time practical living (physical education, health)and technology intructors that have greatly enhanced these 2 programs in particular. Field staff continues to exceed all expectations--ensuring that children benefit not only in academic skills, but from feeling respected, valued, and cared for each day. I go to work happy, comfortable, and confident that my chidren are in a fantastic learning environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

This is the third year at Field for our son. He loves the school and so do we. Field is fortunate to have a great teaching staff and office staff. We are very fortunate to have our new principal, Mrs. Susan French. The past two years the CATS testing scores have gone up over 22 points. Field is now 10 points over its goal for 2005. No other elementary had a greater jump in achievement than did Field. Field has seven new and very good teachers to compliment the long term staff. This year 12 or more students transferred to Field from private schools to become a part of the great diversity we have at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

Field is a questional learning experience. There are a couple of very good teachers mixed with a couple of very bad teachers. If you are new, you won't know the difference - and your child may be placed with a less desirable one, given that those already in attendance can state their preference for the upcoming year. The staff appears more concerned with attendance versus educational quality. Most courses are taught at the lowest level which does little for the advanced student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2004

Field has acquired a wonderful new principal this year. I do not always agree with some of the new rules. Ms. French has made a great impact on Field and created a wonderful team between the school and parents. There is an increase in communications as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2004

Field suffered badly in 2004 from the questionable intrusion of the 'monitoring team' by order of the Superintendent. Much faith in the school and JCPS was lost and children suffered through a serious tragedy and other major turmoil as a result. There was much loss of spirit and lingering fears among students, especially fifth graders. There is a new principal. It will remain to be seen if Field will return to being an excellent school or if parents would be advised to seek another school for their children. The faculty and staff of Field is among the best anywhere and really preformed to make this year work for the students. There were two stand-out 'substitutes' who really helped recover one fifth grade. Alas, they have not been rehired or secured for the 2004-2005 year. There is no active advanced program at Field and sub-par computer training. Terrific on-site CEP program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female73%
Male67%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female83%
Male64%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students70%
Female80%
Male58%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students59%
Female65%
Male52%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students69%
Female70%
Male67%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students77%
Female83%
Male70%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female43%
Male57%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female43%
Male43%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students44%
Female48%
Male38%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students38%
Female45%
Male24%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 81%
Black 25% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

120 Sacred Heart Ln
Louisville, KY 40206
Phone: (502) 485-8252

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holy Spirit School
Louisville, KY



Highlands Latin School
Louisville, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT