Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rutherford Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

Rutherford is located in a multi-ethnic community. My children go to school with children from many other countries, and I love it! They are making friends from Iraq, Cuba, Guatemala, Bosnia, Thailand, and many other countries.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

As a former student, (2007-2013) I wasn't quite satisfied with the environment here at Rutherford Elementary. Bullying is strong, in fact some of my friends have developed mild depression or social anxiety. I, myself, have social anxiety. I have never been bullied much but in the primary grades, (K-3) I would get teased often. but you know, that's okay I guess, since we didn't know any better as we were only 6, 7, 8 year olds. However, throughout the intermediate grades, I would notice a lot serious bullying occuring. My friends have gotten bullied a lot. -- The teachers and staff are phenomenal. Learning was decent, but since I was considered a high-achiever, I was..."held back" from advancing my studies because I would ALWAYS wait for the rest to catch up. I guess that's my fault, as I should've changed a school fit for my standards. But I still learned a lot. I just had to wait a lot. Did they prepare for middle school? Yes... -- HOWEVER...I heard many people saying that Rutherford has changed greatly and improved since we left, haha. So I guess you can see for yourself and see if you *and* your child likes the school. The school is decent. An average experience. Thank you.


Posted April 8, 2014

I grew up in Louisville and later moved to Indiana--but when our family decided to move back here, I researched the JCPS elementary schools. I chose Rutherford Elementary for my daughter because of the Visual Arts Magnet program, and also because the student population is highly diverse. My daughter and I both love the school, the principal and all the teachers she has had. I was shocked to see Rutherford had a 1 rating, until I learned the rating is based on standardized state testing. Of course any school that has so many ESL students and brand new immigrant children is going to score lower on standardized testing. Personally, I think the rating system should be based on more than a culturally biased standardized test. My daughter was bullied at her previous school in Indiana, and we've had NO problems with bullying or harassment at Rutherford. I also appreciate that Rutherford has school-wide cultural activities to encompass the backgrounds of all the students. My daughter says she likes the new friends she's made at Rutherford and learning about where they are from, art and reading, and also the food is very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

There is much talk of Zero Tolerance for Bullying in JCPS schools. We hear it often and want to believe it is true. But at this school, bullying is common. Either it is ignored by staff and teachers or it is not efficiently handled as it happens often. Maybe no one takes it seriously or they are too tired and stressed out to address it properly. It any ways, it is festering like a virus and infecting kids from all grades. Some kids who are generally well behaved had been overwhelmed by the attitude and violent behavior of their peers and are copying such behavior at home. Some of the good teachers do the best they can yet still the problem persists. Could bureaucracy, school politics and policies be hindering their good intentions? Parents complain but the bullying continues. Parents give in or give up. Students are withdrawn or transferred out of the school. Tragic but true. Students that stay on learn the violence as part of the school culture and pass it on to other children. Soon they move on to middle and high school. What will be the future be like if bullying is the norm in our society? What legacy are we leaving for our children if we let them grow up to be bullies?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

My child has been in school since head start now she is entering the third grade. This school is the worst school she has been in. The parents are NOT udated on their childs progress. The teacher made me feel like it was my fault the reason my child was behind due to her seizures. They let a little boy pick on my child, i talk to principal she made it seem like my child was the problem. when I talked to the conselor she made it seem like it was a small thing. I called the board and again nothing was done until 3days school was out my daughted had to switched classes. The school is NOT for a concerned parent that wants their child to suceed in life. Parent involvement is ask but, not respected. So, why sign up for it. My child felt left out and all alone at times. This is the first year she hated school. I hope her third grade year at this schoolis better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

Rutherford Elementary School is terrible. Most of the students have problems with their behavior and they get a below average on tests. However, they do not care. Teachers take action and the head administration does too. But later, not much is done and it happens again and again. The teachers at Rutherford are all different. There's fantastic teachers that teaches and helps their students while there's teachers that are TOO nice and friendly. This may sound silly, but it's true. The teachers that are very nice ends up giving their favorite students favors and learning there is not distributed. So I have to admit, don't send your children here. They won't learn a lot.


Posted October 27, 2011

I only rated this school with one star because you cant give them zero stars! This school is horrible and as the other parent below stated, they have failed the last two years! Some thing should be done about all these school failing year after year, but as the parent stated below, the "system" is overwhelmed! I have tried and tried to get my kids out of this school for the past two years!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

No one has commented since 2008, what does that tell you? Currently this school has failed for two consecutive years. It has met 11 of the 17 academic testing goals, but did not make the AYP ( Adequate Yearly Progress ). Sadly like most schools, with bussed children and not many neighborhood families attending, it has a poor parent involvement. The school also is struggling with a huge language barrier with most of the parents there. More needs to be done on so many levels and with so many JCPS schools in need of guidance, it seems many schools will continue to be allowed to fail... because, " the system", itself is overwhelmed with its " own " failure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2008

This is my child's first year at Rutherford. I love the diversity and the sense of community there. Rutherford really makes you want to get involved and is very welcoming to parents. I'm so happy my child is attending school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2004

Rutherford is a great school. The principal really makes you feel welcome. The academics have really taken off. I would recommend the school to anyone. Great atmosphere great people. Most of the parents here have no idea what a great place it is to go to school. It has been rewarded many times over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I have had seven children at Rutherford. The teachers, staff, and leadership are excellent. I have had children in several Louisville area schools. Rutherford, by far, is my favorite. My children love it there. Rutherford has an excellent family resource center as well as an excellent afterschool program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2003

Rutherford can be a good school if they want to, but both my kids went there 1 year. and i this year was going to choose a better school for my kids,rutherford just dosent meet the standards that i want my kids to be in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
21%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
25%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
41%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female50%
Male37%
African American35%
Asian63%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners35%

Reading

All Students29%
Female34%
Male23%
African American17%
Asian37%
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners13%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students33%
Female43%
Male25%
African American23%
Asian50%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners7%

Math

All Students32%
Female30%
Male33%
African American7%
Asian56%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners14%

Reading

All Students38%
Female43%
Male33%
African American17%
Asian38%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners14%

Science

All Students32%
Female38%
Male27%
African American17%
Asian44%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners7%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
Female28%
Male34%
African American14%
Asian69%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students23%
Female35%
Male11%
African American17%
Asian31%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White24%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students43%
Female42%
Male43%
African American24%
Asian69%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students17%
Female30%
Male5%
African American14%
Asian25%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White15%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
19%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
36%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 35% 81%
Black 30% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 20% 1%
Hispanic 12% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 Southland Blvd
Louisville, KY 40214
Phone: (502) 485-8320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. James Academy
Louisville, KY



St Nicholas Academy
Louisville, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT