Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Madisonville, KY

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Madisonville North Hopkins High School 1

Posted February 24, 2010
- a student
Now that we have a new principal, it seems as if we're being treated like small children. What have we really done to deserve this? 'No bottles outside of the cafeteria.' Wowww. I think many other students would agree with me when I say that MNHHS is more like a prison than an educating facility. Athletes are treated like Gods, agreed. We need to re-evaluate a few things in my opinion.

Madisonville North Hopkins High School 5

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
Extra activities are the best - The band is great - the girls soccor team is Super. and the grand kids just lve this schoo, and I do too.


Madisonville North Hopkins High School 1

Posted June 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Madisonville North Hopkins High School 1

Posted August 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Madisonville North Hopkins High School 4

Posted June 06, 2008
- a student
North Hopkins is a special place in a special town. There are problems there, but they are just typical high school problems that occur anywhere. The school is an older building, but it's holding up. Some of the teachers are not the best, but for the most part, especially taking their low salaries into account, the teachers are great. The history, English, and math (for the most part) departments are awesome. The teachers are well educated and love their jobs. The student/teacher relationships at North is a very strong bond which helps better the school. Mr. Burgett took over principal when I was a junior and after a year of experimenting leadership styles, has it down. He's a motivator and truly wants best for the school. North Hopkins is a great school and has definitely shaped my life for the future.


Madisonville North Hopkins High School 4

Posted November 13, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Madisonville North Hopkins High School 4

Posted October 06, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Madisonville North Hopkins High School 5

Posted September 19, 2007
- a student
There are some great teachers (Ashby, Scarlett, Sarles, Tabor, Patterson, Clark) at North, but some are not so great. Don't expect too much freshmen year, but if your student is a good student North offers many AP classes (French, Spanish, Government, World History, US History, Biology, Calculus, Stats, Chemistry, English Literature). North has a great band and the athletics are good, too. Thanks to Mr. Burgett, they are cracking down on smokers and the chaos that plagued the school while Martin was here. The strict dress code has been thrown out. North is making progress.


Madisonville North Hopkins High School 3

Posted May 21, 2007
- a former student
I just graduated from North Friday night and figured I'd rate my former high school. There are some amazing teachers there, like Amy Bryan/Clark, Mr. Cline, and Mr. Roach. All of these teachers will do whatever they can to help you, and I will definitely say that Mrs. Clark is the best educator I've ever had. The school isn't the newest and there are so many things about the school that are ridiculous and pointless, but there are a handful of teachers that are oustanding. Also, since the new principal, Chad Burgett, took over, I've noticed a significant improvement in the school atmosphere. There are less fights and less PDA. The smoking in the bathrooms has been nearly eradicated, and Mr. Burgett has vastly improved the school. Hopefully he'll continue to improve the school in years to come and these teachers will be around for quite awhile.

Madisonville North Hopkins High School 1

Posted May 09, 2007
- a former student
MNHHS is a miserable excuse for an educational facility. It provided little preparation for college, and the social hierarchy was positively maddening. The school spends far too much money on athletics, and student athletes are treated as demi gods amidst the other students. Also, the curriculum is centered on state testing. At the end of the year, it will benefit the school to perform well, however it will NEVER benefit a student to simply 'learn the test'. Gossip is rampant between students. There is no level of professionalism. To say the least, MNHHS has made me rethink the value of public education. If you love your child, send them elsewhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Madisonville North Hopkins High School
4515 Hanson Rd, Madisonville, KY  42431
(270) 825-6017
Last modified Madisonville North Hopkins High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Madisonville North Hopkins High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top