Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Notre Dame Academy

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Park Hills

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2012

I'm a current Senior at Notre Dame and I would not exchange my 4 years there for anything. I came from a public grade school and was worried that it would be difficult to make new friends but I could not have been more wrong. There isn't really an issue with cliques or social status and with a class of less than 170 girls, we've all grown to be pretty close over the years. As far as academics go, Notre Dame does an excellent job of preparing its girls for college. The teachers encourage us to achieve all that we can and are more than willing to help their students should we happen to fall behind. I have gained countless valuable skills here that will help me excel long after I graduate. One of the things I love most about this school is that each student is viewed as an individual. The administration takes the time to get to know each student and what is going on in their lives. My mother graduated from Notre Dame over 25 years ago and those members of the administration who remain from her time at NDA still remember her and will greet her by name when she comes in for school events. Its a truly incredible feeling to know that every student, past and present, really does matter.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2012

As a recent graduate, and now college student, I can safely say NDA prepared me for college- and far beyond. Without the loving, yet disciplined, feel of Notre Dame Academy- I am not sure if I would be the person I am today. I have made great business connections, great grades, and great friends through the NDA community and look forward to sending my daughter to this school. I truly believe the school gives every girl the power behind their voice- each earn it in their own way.


Posted February 22, 2010

I have been dissapointed overall. The girls are very clicky & harsh and it effects the learning enviroment. Education is good but not excellent. Dicipline is harsh or weak depending on who you are. Hard economic times have hurt the school, the school is afraid to kick out bad kids due to needing the dollars. Donations from parents cloud the decision process for the girls when forming the sports teams and extra curricular teams. The athletic department needs a complete overhaul and it is poorly ran. The drama department puts on good plays. The schools student ratio is 33 to 1 due to cut backs, the athletic facility is weak, school lunches are pricey, it's a nighmare getting out of the school parking lot in the after noon, allow an extra 20 minutes per day. Campus is pretty.


Posted February 8, 2010

I would never send my child to this school. The girls are not welcoming and are very judgmental. The education is decent, but they don't offer too many dual-credit classes to prep my child for college. There are too many better public high schools in the area for me to waste my money by sending my child to this excuse for a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

This is a wonderful school. The atmosphere is unlike anything else you will ever see. I highly recommend it. I love being here! Pandas are so much fun... I can't imagine a better high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2006

I graduated in 2000. This is an excellent school with dedicated and professional teachers, a caring accessible administration, and an inspiring sense of mission. I know that I received an excellent education and hope to send my daughter(s) here someday.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 9, 2006

I currently have two daughters enrolled at NDA and I would not even consider sending them to another school. In fact my oldest daughter gave up a scholarship to another school to attend NDA. Everything about this school is first class from putting religion and a devotion to Mary first to the academics to the sports and extracurricular activites to the service to your community. I also can not say enough about the single gender education. NDA is truly 'educating women to make a difference'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

I believe that this school has an excellent quality of education and religious values. The extra curricular activities are open to all students and help to enrich the students experience. I know first hand how excellent this school is due to the fact that i am currently a sophomore attending Notre Dame Academy. I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 81%
Black 2% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Covington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1699 Hilton Drive
Park Hills, KY 41011
Phone: (859) 261-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Beechwood High School
Fort Mitchell, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT