Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1066 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

My daughter has attended this school for 3 years. I am extremely happy with the curriculum and the teacher's involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

Just wanted a little info about what is going at River Ridge. Went to a bridal shower and asked "what is going on at River Ridge, heard they are busing children in from everywhere, this is about the tenth time I have been asked in the last month. I know that parents are not happy with the current principal, but is this something that I really have to be concerned about? Would love some input, thanks.


Posted September 14, 2011

My daughter has been at river ridge since Kindergarten. At first, I was very happy with the school. Her kindergarten teacher was fantastic. As she progressed through the grades however, she has complained to me multiple times that she wanted to be more challenged in reading and spelling. I have talked to the teachers and they have done little to nothing to address the situation so I have had to challenge her at home. I am hoping this year will be different. It is a good school, but there are certainly some downfalls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I have sent all of my children to River Ridge and have loved the teachers. They are very dedicated and communicate well even though it is a very large school. The school also has a very active PTO. I have had some unpleasant dealings with the principal where I have come away feeling like she felt she had far more important things to do than talk to me. I'm also inclined to agree with another reviewer that the car rider situation is pretty chaotic. While the staff is great with the kids sometimes I think that the administration struggles to manage such a large number of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2011

This has great teachers! They have hands on activities with me and other students that need help. There progams are awesome! I am a 4th grader and I started in K. I want to stay until I go to 6th!!


Posted May 21, 2010

This is a great school! My son has really done well here. All the teachers and staff are really nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

This school is absoulutly the best! My daughters have gone there for five years and love it! They treat my children very well! I reccomend for you to apply your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I think the car rider routine is ridiculous. I don't understand why you can't pick your kid up when needed. I picked my daughter up 2 times and was told I had to get a car rider number because they wanted consistancy. It's ridiculous. Other than that the teachers are great!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

The teachers at River Ridge are great! My experience with the principal has not been so great. I have witnessed her being negative and harsh with the children. Sometimes I feel like she is so far removed from the classroom that she has difficulties connecting with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

We have 3 children at River Ridge this year: 5th, 3rd and K. Our family has been more than pleased with the teachers, administration and education. Not only is the school well structured, but, we have seen our childrens needs met on all levels. They are being appropriately challenged and encouraged. All positives!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

My 5 year old daughter Makenzie started at River Ridge for preschool. The teachers there were amazing!! She learned how to interact with others and started to learn so much. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

River Ridge has some great teachers. However, it is a very large school. I often feel like my children are part of a factory. It is a good school if your child is right in the middle academically or has certain special needs. If your child is above or below the curve, very little is done to help. This school is also so focused on the approach to discipline that my children become so focused on staying on green (good behavior) that they forget about learning. They are sometimes afraid to ask questions because it might be the wrong time and would get them moved to yellow (a warning). Althought I am am very active parent, I do not think that the leadership in this school is going to allow it to improve. We will not return next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

I am a parent of a second grader. I think they need to do more to encourage children who are more advanced in subjects and place them in more advanced classes to encourage learning. The gifted children seem to get quite bored from not being challenged. I think all of the teachers and staff are very hard working and go above and beyond as much as they can. I think the ratio student to teacher is off on this web site. My daughter has been in classes with as many as 25+ students per teacher over the past couple of years. I love the fact that the special needs children as so integrated in this school and the children are encouraged to learn sign language to speak with the deaf children and encouraged to interact with them. If I had any choice in Kenton County School district it would be here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

This school for my 5th grader was awesome.He was a slow learning student and mrs,h brown reached out to him,he loved her and most of all he loved the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

My son goes to preschool at riverridge and they are great. He has learned so much there and we are thrilled by his progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

River Ridge has offered my sons the opportunity to go 'above and beyond' in any subject they choose, and teach them acceptance and understanding of special needs students. I have been very impressed with the teaching and administrative staff's willingness to talk with me at any time, and assist us in getting the best education for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

My son's kindergarten experience at River Ridge this year (2006) has been an extreme disappointment My son has special needs and the teachers, principals, and special education teachers have not been helpful in implementing a program to help in academic excellence. It is truly a sad and upsetting experience. I hope that all parents with special needs children will consider another school for their child's future education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

The quality of the teachers is solid. They have different levels of teaching for your child in each grade depending on you childs current development. I would rate our experience with this scholl to be positive
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

I have a special needs child, and have only been at River Ridge since August of 03. In that short amount of time (it is 10-6-03), I have been amazed! I have been extremely impressed with everyone (the secretaries, principal, teachers,guidence counselors, etc...) They are extremely organized, and I have not met one person who hasn't been extremely caring, hard-working and upbeat! They make you feel like your child is the only one in school! I could't speak more highly of this institution and its staff! I give River Ridge 10 stars on a scale of 1-5!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female71%
Male67%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learners62%

Reading

All Students67%
Female68%
Male67%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learners39%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students51%
Female59%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students54%
Female47%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female53%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female82%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female46%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students52%
Female46%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students70%
Female59%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners36%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students40%
Female41%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 82%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Asian 5% 1%
Black 5% 11%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2772 Amsterdam Rd
Villa Hills, KY 41017
Phone: (859) 341-5260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Joseph School
Crescent Springs, KY





Beechwood Elementary School
Fort Mitchell, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT